week 07 | MA Data Visualisation

Muskeen
2 min readNov 18, 2022

This week has been about choosing colours, data for good, visualising our readings, risograph printing and thinking about the patterns on the tube seats.

We had a talk by Duncan Swain, Creative director at Beyond Words Studio. He spoke with us about how data can be used for good and visualised in personal and emotional ways. I found it interesting to learn about how the studio works, the design processes, and how they make decisions.

We have been thinking about the attribute (Jacques Bertin) of colour/hue and how we can use preattentive tendencies (Colin Ware) to highlight patterns in our data and as signifiers for comparable information. We also considered what colour scales to use for different types of data, how colour can create meaning, and how to make designs more accessible using a colour blindness checker.

Image from sketchbook

For our formative assessment, we had the option of a series of briefs. I chose to design cushion covers that represent data from our class. From feedback, I have been taking inspiration from the patterns on public transport and am looking at shapes and colours that inspire me.

I went to a risograph print induction to learn more about the options for applying risograph to my projects.

In my work, I would like to consider how I can use variables on the Risograph printer such as ‘overlay’, ‘tints’, and ‘grain’ to show uncertainty in my data visualisations. I really like the tangible qualities of the uncoated paper and how the ink sinks into the paper and can never really dry.

Image of risograph induction booklets (left), the risograph printer (right)

--

--

Muskeen

Currently undertaking an MA in Data Visualisation at UAL. Sharing my explorations and experimentation.