week 30 | MA Data Visualisation

Muskeen
3 min readJun 23, 2023

(After taking a post-deadline rest over the reading week) This week has been all about research methods using photographs, a talk by Elena Etter from Clever Franke and working on data earrings.

I have been cutting out lots of colourful acrylic shapes using laser cutting; it is very fun and kind of addictive! I have found this to be an exciting way to start experimenting with what form my data earrings might take. For my data set, I am asking participants to describe two important events in their life, and the age when they happened, in relation to their current age.

From my tutorial this week, I have been re-focusing my research angle, and also considering outdoor workshops I can plan, to encourage engagement with mycelium networks, and share what I have learnt so far in my research.

At the end of the week, we had a talk by Elena Etter from Clever Franke, Elena graduated from the course two years ago. Elena shared lots of insights on visual strategies for missing and incomplete data as well as an interesting analogy of data being like water. I also found the tentative framework for designers (left image) interesting to consider in relation to my practice.

We had a workshop where we started with a collection of 20 images related to our final major project and then arranged them into a ‘map’, ‘classification’ and timeline.

We have been thinking about our WIP show in the upcoming weeks, and have been discussing in our peer-based learning groups what we might develop for this. I am interested in using the show as an opportunity to collect data/research, and also consider ways of participatory drawing. I am looking into creating drawing bots as a possible starting point for this.

--

--

Muskeen

Currently undertaking an MA in Data Visualisation at UAL. Sharing my explorations and experimentation.