Week 35 | Ma Data Visualisation

Muskeen
4 min readOct 7, 2023

This week was our first week back after summer break! It was all about sharing ideas for our final outcome, drawing, and going on a guided fungi walk.

On our first day back we shared outlines of a few potential directions for our final visual outcome. We shared our ideas in a series of short presentations and also displayed them on the wall for further feedback and suggestions.

I have been working on my draft for the critical context section of the report. In turn, I have discovered new books: The Mushroom at the End of the World, Anna Tsing, and Every Day is a Good Day: The Visual Art of John Cage, John Cage.

I have been researching drawing practices and also looking for visual examples that interest me or relate to my ideas for my final outcome.

This has led to lots of testing of new drawing prompts, which has been super fun. I am experimenting with how drawings and control can change when closing our eyes, and drawing with a pen in each hand at the same time.

At the end of the week, I attended a guided fungi walk in Streatham Common. I found it super interesting to learn about and discover so many different types of fungi! Some of the fungi we saw included: Chicken of the Woods, Ganoderma sp., Pale brittle stems, Dead Man’s Fingers, Jelly ears, and Collerd Earthstar.

Fungi are often named based on visual characteristics, I am curious about how studying their shapes, textures, and colors as part of my visual design research will inform my outcome.

At the end of the week, I visited the exhibition AI: Who’s Looking After Me? at the Science Gallery. There was a really big range of work, all using and highlighting how many of us know very little about AI, the function of AI in our lives, and the relationship between AI and care now and for in the future.

--

--

Muskeen

Currently undertaking an MA in Data Visualisation at UAL. Sharing my explorations and experimentation.