week 40 | Ma Data Visualisation

Muskeen
3 min readNov 25, 2023

This week has been all about considering how to print the publication, deciding on the paper, deciding on binding, and getting the publication ready for print.

At the beginning of the week, I had a consultation with digital print, where we discussed paper, binding types and methods to print. They were very kind to share exmaples and advice on creating a publication.

After this discussion, I did a test on digital print and another on the risograph printer. I decided to go in the direction of risograph, as it suited the topic of my book better, with the ‘lossiness’ of the drawings translating better.

I have also been doing some research on paper. I need to use uncoated paper to print on the risograph printer, which narrows down the options. I am also interested in off-white paper with some texture to add dimension to the black-and-white images.

I have been reading from All Data are Local. It has given me lots to consider and think about, especially when relating it to my data collection methods and working with qualitative open-ended data.

I participated in a research method for one of my classmate’s final projects, where I recorded my time perceptions in activities in a day. They kindly gifted me a box of tea (in a handcrafted box)!

I have reached 100 responses from the drawing workbooks and have truly been enjoying spending time with the data sets and being surprised by the responses I have received.

Finally, I have been working on finalising and refining the publication to be ready to be printed next week. This iterative process has involved test printing, file prep, choosing colours and practising binding.

--

--

Muskeen

Currently undertaking an MA in Data Visualisation at UAL. Sharing my explorations and experimentation.