week 44 | Ma Data Visualisation

Muskeen
4 min readDec 2, 2023

This week has been all about installing the degree show. Preparations have included risograph printing, folding, binding, cutting and designing. It has been a super fun and busy week! I am thankful for all the help and support from my classmates, tutors and technicians at LCC.

At the beginning of the week, the technicians helped me fold my publication using the folding machine. Because I used risograph for my prints, there were some misalignments, so we tried to fold the pages to account for this.

When organising the pages, I found that the fluorescent pink on my full-colour page was going everywhere, so as a next step, I used a fixative spray on these pages. I have also used a plastic eraser to remove smudges from the riso ink, as it never fully dries.

Considering these impracticalities, I am still pleased with my decision to use riso and embrace the analogue print.

I have been spending afternoons in the very peaceful book-binding workshop at LCC. I have used a three-hole pamphlet stitch and individually sewn around 45 publications. I have enjoyed slowing down and taking my time to sew the work.

After I stitched all the publications, the printing finishing technicians helped me cut the publications down to size. We made a few more adjustments here to account for misalignments, which can happen when hand stitching, as the thread is a relatively loose way of binding.

I have been reading LET’S BECOME FUNGAL!, by Yasmine Ostendorf-Rodriguez. It is a very illustrative and poetic publication; I am intrigued by how the author has included an extensive range of perspectives in the book.

With a few of my classmates, we have been working on making postcards for the show, for all of our classmate’s work. The postcards will be displayed in the show to map the work to the contact who made it.

On Friday, we had an install day. This day included installing the wall outcome at a height of 7.5 metres. The installation team installed the poster in three parts to account for shelf and height.

I have also used the risograph printer to make a business card bookmark. The print includes more details of the project and my contact details to go alongside the work in the degree show. It was fun to risograph print in fluorescent pink!

At the end of the week, I went to Reference.Point to listen to Meditations on Nada. I enjoyed being in the space and exploring their book collection.

--

--

Muskeen

Currently undertaking an MA in Data Visualisation at UAL. Sharing my explorations and experimentation.