Securely and permanently erase files and folders on your Mac
Greetings! Happy and excited to introduce you to Shredo — file shredding and privacy scan utility for Mac.
It permanently shreds files, folders and external volumes’ contents to keep information secure and impossible for anyone to retrieve.
What shredding methods are used?
Depending on security level and data erase speed, you have 3 shredding methods at you disposal:
Offers good security and quickest erase of data. It deletes access information to your files and writes random bytes over the data ONCE.
Slower speed, but better security than 1-pass.
Writes over data 7 times, based on US Department of Defence (DoD) 5220–20 M standard algorithms.
Slowest, but offers best security.
Erases file access info and writes over the data 35 times, based on the Gutmann method for deletion.
How does it work?
Well, it’s all very easy and intuitive. :)
You just drop files on any “circle” or click on a “green +” button to add files into a desired shredding method.
Shredo supports drag-and-drop on its Dock icon, as well as, via control-click (right click) — Services — Erase with Shredo menu.
Privacy Scan — remove browser history, cookies and other privacy threats with ease!
Important things to know:
All 3 shredding methods work as a separate unit, so you can continue adding files to non-busy ones, while the rest are being processed.
- If you want to delete all the files and folders on some major system folder like: Downloads, Documents, Desktop, Music, Pictures, Movies (basically any folder inside your ‘UserName” folder), please select all the files inside those. Deleting the above mentioned folders, as a whole, is not permitted in OS X, so Shredo will not allow you to drop those in.
- You can terminate any task at any moment, BUT this will not recover files and folders that have already been deleted;
- You can not add files to a busy shredding operation. Just wait until it’s complete or cancel it -add the missing files -and click on “Start shredding files”;
- If the app has started shredding a big file and you’ve canceled it, that file might be partially damaged, because some of its data might have already been rewritten;
- Erase of hidden system files is not permitted;
- If you drop a folder, that is parent to some files/folders that have already been added, on a different shredding method, previously added files of this parent folder will be added to the shredding list of parent’s folder shredding method. For example, we have ‘MyPDFsFolder’ with “123.pdf “ and “Important.PDF” files inside it. Let’s say, you’ve dragged both of those PDF’s to 1-pass shred circle, but then, you drop the entire ‘MyPDFsFolder’ to 35-pass. In this case, 123.pdf and Important.pdf, will be removed from 1-pass’s shredding list and will be erased with 35-pass method.
Hope this short article will help you get started with Shredo.
Wishing you an enjoyable day!