How To Improve Radio Communication With Air Traffic Control

Jason Schappert
2 min readJun 1, 2016

--

I was plagued by this for the longest time, because I grew up in an uncontrolled or pilot controlled airport. I was great talking with other pilots in the pattern, but the moment I had to talk to someone else, like an air traffic controller, life became really difficult. It was like when I hit that button my IQ instantly dropped or my hands began to shake. It was such a nerve racking experience to talk to a controller who’s really there to help us, to work for us. So I want to show you guys four ways to step up our radio communications with air traffic control.

Have Your Taxiway Diagram Out

When you receive that taxi clearance, even before you receive that taxi clearance, have your taxiway diagram out. Be prepared with the diagram out ready to write or mark the actual route that you will be asked to take.

Write Down And Read Back

As the air traffic controller is giving it to me, I’m writing it on a clean piece a paper or on my iPad. Write everything down and then read it back. It’s important to know what needs to be read back and what doesn’t.

Never Assume

I never assume the air traffic controller intended for me to cross a runway or that I was cleared to land. If you don’t know, follow the next step

Never Hesitate To Ask For Clarification

If you don’t know, ASK! Ask for what’s called a progressive taxi where the air traffic controller will literally hold your hand and tell you where to turn and taxi and all you have to do is let them know you are unfamiliar with the airport.

Don’t shy away from talking to an air traffic controller and don’t be intimidated by busy or big airspace. The controllers are there to help you.

Want to brush up on your radio communications, download our free VFR Radio Communications App in the Apple or Android store by searching VFR Radio Communication.

For more information, visit us at MzeroA.com

--

--

Jason Schappert

Certificated Flight Instructor. Aviation Author. Online Ground School Creator. Find Me at MzeroA.com