Regret

Mario Ayar
2 min readDec 23, 2016

--

According to the Cambridge dictionary regret is “a feeling of sadness about something sad or wrong or about a mistake that you have made, and a wish that it could have been different and better

The concept of regret has always been associated with an action that has already occurred, usually a negative event. However, regret is hardly thought of for events that didn’t happen. Lately I was noticing how much talking I was doing about acting on my projects but never doing anything. Recently after many conversations with my grandma, who I’m lucky enough to still have alive, I put myself her in shoes and asked myself If I was her age or was about to die, would I be happy with what I was doing in life.

Before you think anything negative, I know I get that this sounds really dark but it’s the reality of life; we are not going to live for ever. I’m sorry if I spoiled that for you. My answer was no. I would not be happy, in fact I would be regretting every single moment that I did not take advantage of, knowing it was being wasted watching countless youtube videos that did nothing to help me in any way.

Now there is not right or wrong way to live life, if watching youtube makes you happy then great, however, in my life it was my passion to be a full time interviewer that was burning inside. Please realize that you will not live forever, and we currently live in best era to pursue our dreams and goals. The internet has empowered us to do whatever we want, so don’t let that go to waste. There are to many examples for you to bring excuses and complaints.

I beg you, please don’t wait until it’s too late. Go pursue that passion or dream you always had. Ask out that girl or guy on a date, move to that place you always dreamed of. Don’t let the limitations of others become your own reality.

Don’t live with regret!

--

--