How to Move on A Budget

New Scooters 4 Less
3 min readJul 10, 2018

--

By Brooklyn Carey

It’s as easy as this gif shows!

As college students, we move a lot. From home to dorm, dorm to apartment, apartment to house, it’s rare for us to stay in one place your whole college career. But all along the way we expect ourselves to tug along all the belongings that we have accumulated over the years- it can get expensive. However, don’t break the piggy bank yet- as an experienced mover I have just the tips and tricks you need to make sure your moves are as cost effective as possible!

  1. If you can- move slowly.

I have furniture at my parents house in Fort Lauderdale that I am bringing up to my apartment in the fall. If I was to take this up all at once; I would need a movers truck, however, as I have made visits back home I have loaded up my car with things I will need in the fall and have been keeping them stacked up like a hoarder in my smaller living arrangement now. I don’t have to rent a moving vehicle and have cut down the cost of gas as well- I was already making those trips so I don’t have to make extra in the fall. Start moving early!

2. Get plastic bins

Purchase a couple plastic bins from your local goodwill, walmart, or target and pack your things into those for the move. Make sure to get the ones with handles on the side! When you use these it helps with storage in your new place and will help cut costs on future moves as well!

3. Keep those clothes hung!

When moving your things from your closest keep all your clothes on their hangers, put them in groups of ten and tie a rubber band around the hooks to keep them together. Then place three of these groups in a trash bags and tighten around the hooks. It saves you time on folder each article of clothing and helps the unpacking process as well.

4. Recruit your friends- Pay in Pizza

Your friends may be more than willing to help you move a couple of boxes if they know they are getting some pizza at the end of the day. Have an hour recess after the moving process- let everyone go and shower and then order some pizza and put on a movie at your new place! It saves a crazy amount of time to have a few extra hands to help with your move.

5. Get those deposits!

Make sure to take pictures of your cleared out apartment as you move out and your new apartment as you move in. This will make getting your deposits back from each of those easier.

6. Don’t stock up on Newspapers- Use your clothes!

Back away fragile items by wrapping them in your folded clothes. It saves you storage space makes packing and unpacking easier.

Just a couple tips that make your moving process easier. Have a better idea? Let us know what your moving hacks are.

--

--

New Scooters 4 Less

Gainesville’s SCOOTER dealership helping @UF students get to class! A #Gator100 company — one of the fastest growing #Gator biz’s in the world! (352) 336–1271