Digital Detox Manifesto

P. Xie
3 min readDec 5, 2022

--

I believe that technology can connect us and improve our lives, but it can also be a hindrance if we let it consume us. That’s why I have decided to take control of my relationship with technology and practice digital detox. Digital detox is the act of disconnecting from technology and the internet for a while to recharge and refocus. It’s about taking a break from the constant distractions and notifications that can overwhelm us and interfere with our ability to be present and mindful.

My challenge is that I am too obsessed with TikTok. As Marini wrote in Bring Humanity Back To Technology, I am suffering the intermittent variable reinforcement such as Likes and Comments, which trained me to stare at the screen, which also makes me experience a short-term attention span that I overlook how fast the time passed. Also, I think I suffer a small level of FOO because I am afraid of losing, so I check messages and other notifications so many times a day, even before sleep. Therefore, I deleted TikTok on my phone and turned off some notifications. The followings are my manifesto:

Photo by ev on Unsplash

I recognize that technology is not fading and can be a valuable tool. But I also know that I need to set boundaries and limit my use of them in order to maintain my mental and emotional well-being.

I will prioritize face-to-face interactions and make time for real-life experiences that nourish my mind, body, and soul. I will not let the fear of missing out or the pressure to be connected constantly dictate my life.

I will be mindful of my technology use and take regular breaks from it. I will create a digital detox plan that works for me and stick to it.

I am taking back control of my life and my relationship with technology. I am committing to a regular digital detox practice and will not let technology consume me.

I understand that digital detox is not easy and may require effort and adjustment. But I am determined to make it a part of my routine because I know it will benefit me in the long run.

I will be more productive and focused when I am not constantly interrupted by notifications and alerts. I will have more time and energy to devote to the things that truly matter to me, and I will be better able to enjoy the present moment.

I will also be more present and engaged in my relationships when I am not distracted by technology. I will be able to connect with others on a deeper level, and I will be more attuned to their needs and emotions.

I will not let technology dictate my mood or my behavior. I will use it as a tool, not a crutch, and I will not let it control me.

In short, I am committed to a regular digital detox practice because it will improve my mental and emotional well-being, and help me live a more balanced and fulfilling life.

--

--