DeepMind Fellow Profile: Etienne Dejoie

Learn more about Etienne Dejoie, an M.S. Data Science student and one of four DeepMind Fellows at CDS this year

NYU Center for Data Science
Center for Data Science
2 min readSep 19, 2017

--

DeepMind is a leading artificial intelligence research company that tackles real-world challenges ranging from climate change to healthcare. They awarded scholarships to four M.S. in Data Science students at the NYU Center for Data Science (CDS) for the 2017–18 academic year.

Etienne Dejoie

I am Etienne Dejoie. I was born and raised in France. I started my higher education in French « classes préparatoires » in Paris and Versailles, and eventually enrolled École polytechnique.

There, I sharpened my knowledge in Applied Mathematics and Computer Science. During these years I also discovered Machine Learning, and began conducting research, most notably during an internship at Montreal University with Yoshua Bengio.

Before enrolling in the NYU master’s program in Data Science, I took a year off to work for a start-up in the Bay Area, where I developed a lidar system for autonomous vehicles. Being immersed in a high-end innovation ecosystem was a great experience: I discovered that I wanted to be part of a tech startup project sooner rather than later.

I am very honored and grateful to be awarded the DeepMind Scholarship. At NYU, I am really looking forward to honing my skills in Data Science, discovering a learning experience that is totally different than the one I experienced in France and, last but not least, getting involved in research projects with CDS faculty members.

--

--

NYU Center for Data Science
Center for Data Science

Official account of the Center for Data Science at NYU, home of the Undergraduate, Master’s, and Ph.D. programs in Data Science.