(228): Essence Through the Air

Betta Tryptophan
1 min readJun 15, 2017

--

A one line poem based on Terijo’s prompt “Essence.”

Notice me! Beautiful by day, inexorable by night. Image(cropped) by stevep2008 via Flickr. License.

A sweet smell, a volatile cluster of molecules

Rises in the evening,

Becoming full late at night,

As I sniff the midnight air;

Only a few parts per million

Scattered on the dying wind —

The honeysuckle floats home to me.

Here is Terijo’s great poem and prompt with its myriad and wonderful responses!

If you enjoy my posts, consider supporting my writing with a donation by clicking on the crazy button above (takes you to Paypal). I appreciate anything you can spare. I’ll occasionally post a thank you on Medium, so if you wish to remain anonymous, please indicate this. Thanks to all readers; I appreciate hearts and comments and all that cool Medium stuff!

--

--

Betta Tryptophan

Blue-haired middle-aged lady with a tendency to say socially and politically incorrect things and to make inappropriate jokes. Awkward and (sort of) proud of it