Betrayal’s Bitter Taste

Nancy Ann Creed
2 min readSep 4, 2024

--

Made by Nancy Ann Creed using Canva.com

Betrayal’s Bitter Taste

We walked side by side, through sun and rain,
A bond forged strong, unbreakable chain.
Your laughter echoed, a sweet refrain,
As we navigated life’s joy and pain.

I stood beside you, a steadfast friend,
A shoulder to lean on, until the very end.
I offered my heart, my love, my hand,
A loyal companion in this vast land.

But darkness crept in, a chilling sight,
A twist of fate, a dreadful plight.
Your words turned cruel, your actions cold,
A betrayal deep, a story untold.

I searched for answers, a reason why,
But found only questions, beneath the sky.
The trust I had given, shattered and torn,
A friendship once pure, forevermore gone.

The bitter taste of betrayal lingers still,
A wound that time cannot heal.
Though hurt and betrayed, I’ll rise above,
And find solace in the love of others, I’ll prove.

More Works by Nancy Ann Creed

--

--

Nancy Ann Creed

Nancy Ann is a writer, teacher, poet, & mother. She enjoys reading interesting stories, writing poetry, paranormal fiction, & sci-fi. http://nancyanncreed.com