Juggling Motherhood and Education: A 14-Year Grad School Journey

Nancy Ann Creed
3 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Photo by Gu00fcl Iu015fu0131k on Pexels.com

Juggling Motherhood and Education: A 14-Year Grad School Journey

In the fall of 2011, the same semester my daughter Zelda arrived, I embarked on a marathon of a journey: graduate school. Balancing motherhood with academics, I meticulously chipped away, taking one class a year whenever time and finances allowed. Now, a remarkable 14 years later, I’m just two classes shy of the finish line, aiming to graduate in May 2025 — a quarter-century after my undergraduate degree!

Last year, caring for a sick Zelda meant putting studies on hold. While this resulted in a reapplication, it also gave me the opportunity to update my essay and showcase the valuable experiences I’ve gained since first applying. With only two classes remaining and a near-perfect 3.8 GPA (those pesky B+’s!), I’m confident and excited to return and finish strong.

Essay

Juggling motherhood, a teaching career, and a passion for writing has instilled in me a unique set of skills that I believe would make me a valuable addition to your graduate program. Throughout this journey, I’ve honed my patience, communication skills, and the ability to manage multiple priorities effectively. My inherent desire to nurture and inspire extends beyond the classroom, motivating me to pursue knowledge and growth in my own life as well.

My passion for teaching bloomed early. Even as a child, I orchestrated elaborate schools with my stuffed animals and younger siblings. This early interest, however, was unknowingly shaped by a challenging childhood. While my childhood memories painted a picture of a loving home, the reality was far harsher. My parents faced significant financial struggles, and their eventual illness when I was eleven turned my world upside down.

Grief, confusion, and academic struggles followed. Building friendships and finding meaning in life presented immense challenges. However, during this difficult time, dedicated teachers, a supportive youth pastor, and ultimately, my adoptive parents became beacons of hope. Their guidance and unwavering compassion fostered a sense of security and reignited my passion for learning.

The loss of my biological parents remains a source of bittersweet reflection. They instilled in me a deep appreciation for family, and I strive to be the kind of mother and teacher they would be proud of. This unwavering desire for growth fuels my pursuit of knowledge and motivates me to seek out new ways to facilitate learning. I yearn to connect with my students on a deeper level, demonstrate genuine care, and equip them with the latest technological and pedagogical tools for success.

With my diverse experiences, honed skills, and unwavering dedication, I am confident I will be an excellent addition to your teaching program.

More works by Nancy Ann Creed

--

--

Nancy Ann Creed

Nancy Ann is a writer, teacher, poet, & mother. She enjoys reading interesting stories, writing poetry, paranormal fiction, & sci-fi. http://nancyanncreed.com