Writing

Nancy Ann Creed
3 min readSep 18, 2024

--

Photo by Kaitlyn Baker on Unsplash

Writing has always been a significant part of my life. Although I didn’t write much as a child, I always had an active imagination. School was challenging, as I struggled with concentration and completing homework. I often forgot about assignments, and my grades suffered.

The loss of both parents during middle school profoundly impacted my personal and academic life. I struggled to focus, complete my assignments, and prioritize academics. Consequently, my grades plummeted, hindering my ability to acquire essential skills for future academic success.

I attended school in Bayonne, New Jersey, and encountered some of the worst teachers I have ever had. Teachers would often ridicule students for not knowing something and would sometimes make derogatory comments about us within earshot of others. Each marking period, our principal would publicly humiliate us by reading our grades aloud in front of our classmates. This was a deeply demoralizing experience.

I remember being made fun of for my math grades, especially. It’s ironic now, considering I teach math and use my own experience to encourage my students. I tell them, “I almost failed math in middle school, and now I’m a math teacher. You are destined for greatness and can accomplish anything.”

Determined to outshine the teachers who had previously fallen short, I dedicated myself to my studies with unwavering intensity. Despite being significantly behind my peers, I poured countless hours into catching up. I meticulously replicated the reading materials, note-taking strategies, and math practice methods of my classmates, focusing on areas where I struggled the most. One class in particular helped me more than any other: my creative writing class. In this class, I was able to explore all the ideas I had that I had never been able to put on paper.

I still lacked the self-esteem and confidence to write as I wanted to. Even in high school and college, I didn’t put myself in situations that would help me improve my writing craft. I thought it was too big of a challenge and that nothing would ever come of it.

I continued to struggle, but with the support of an amazing group of friends, I started writing stories, journaling, and writing poetry.

It wasn’t until I experienced the tremendous loss of a miscarriage that I fully understood the importance of writing. Writing became a way for me to cope. It helped me process my thoughts, and the paper and pen didn’t judge me for feeling the way I did. Through this experience, I published my first book, and it’s undoubtedly the most important one I’ve ever written. I wanted to share my story with other women who have experienced the same pain. I want them to know that they are not alone.

Within the safety net of my new friends who heard my ideas and encouraged me, we started our own writing group. Their encouragement helped me connect with my ideas in writing. and explore other kids’ perspectives. One of the things I tell my students all the time is to surround yourself with people who build you up. Your friends should push you to be better. True friends want you to succeed.

Instead of saying that a teacher encouraged me, it was my family and friends. This is possibly one of the reasons why I want to be the best teacher I can be. Teachers should support and encourage their students. One of the reasons why I wanted to be a middle school teacher was because I had such a hard time in middle school. It’s a tough age for kids, and they need guidance and people who care and love them at this crucial age when they are learning about themselves.

More Works by Nancy Ann Creed

--

--

Nancy Ann Creed

Nancy Ann is a writer, teacher, poet, & mother. She enjoys reading interesting stories, writing poetry, paranormal fiction, & sci-fi. http://nancyanncreed.com