Nat F Brown
1 min readMar 27, 2017

--

Being perceived as entitled is one potential drawback of researchers lobbying for increased funding. I’m more concerned about it being perceived as a conflict of interest, or even living up to that. I’ve come across members of the public online, probably outliers and certainly a minority, who easily align with that view.

I hesitate to derail your theme here, but just quickly, it seems clear to me that public understanding of this issue is pivotal. Yes, many scientists are busy generating data, analysing it, and deriving further hypotheses, as well as trying to fund more work. Communicating our findings is critical. I’m familiar with the traditional mechanisms there and contemporary movements to evolve it. However, in the absence of a major bridge to get that information to the populace we run the risk of establishing ourselves as a distinct class within society. One who relies on those who don’t really understand what we do to fund us. To a substantial extent we’re there now and little wonder our situation is precarious.

Thanks for taking the time to respond to me here, and for the work you do in this area. I’ll be passing your article on to my representative.

--

--