8 Quotes that Made My Instagram Moments More Powerful

Natalie Bergen McGhee
4 min readOct 22, 2015

I am constantly inspired by words. Whether it be a thought from an article, the lyrics to a song, a passage in a book, or a line from a movie — words have the power to evoke an immediate emotional response. A simple phrase can cause you to stop in your tracks, analyze its meaning, and reflect on how it relates to your life.

Have you ever read a thought so good, so monumental, that you just put the book down in your lap and looked up at the ceiling?

You looked up and simply processed what you had just read. Perhaps, after a minute or two, you turned the book over and read it again. Those are the phrases I’m talking about. Those are the ones that get bookmarked, saved, downloaded, and highlighted. Those are the phrases that stay with you.

In addition to words, I am constantly inspired by moments. Often times, you can find me snapping away on my camera, capturing life’s little moments: a day at the beach, a morning walk, happy people, a gorgeous sunset. For me, however, it’s not just taking the picture that excites me. It’s what happens afterwards, too. I love getting creative with the photo by making the colors pop. I enjoy cropping or adjusting to make the image more eye appealing. I do all that I can to make that moment come alive because, as we know, sometimes a picture is worth a thousand words.

But, as a person who loves both, I prefer to pair my pictures with words. Instagram has provided an amazing outlet for people to share both the moments and the thoughts that mean most to them. When used together, powerful quotes can give images a whole new meaning.

Over the past few months, I paired eight everyday moments with eight of my favorite quotes. Sometimes, the picture inspired the quote. Other times, the quote was in my mind and it was just a matter of finding the right moment to capture its essence. Either way, I hope you enjoy.

Do not look back and grieve over the past, for it is gone;

and do not be troubled about the future, for it has yet to come.

Live in the present, and make it so beautiful that it will be worth remembering.

– Ida Scott Taylor

Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower.

– Albert Camus

What’s for you will not pass you.

Alex and Ani

Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine.

– Anthony J. D’Angelo

Faith is the bird that feels the light when the dawn is still dark.

– Tagore

In the end, it’s not the years in your life that count. It’s the life in your years.

– Abraham Lincoln

You have to take risks. We will only understand the miracle of life fully when we allow the unexpected to happen.

– Paulo Coelho

Time falls away, But these small hours, These small hours still remain.

Rob Thomas

What quotes have you paired with moments? Share the quote or Instagram link below!

P.S. Appreciating the little things and 7 Songs I Never Skip on Shuffle.

P.P.S. For more Instagram moments: @nataliebergen

Originally published at notesbynatalie.com on October 22, 2015.

--

--

Natalie Bergen McGhee

Living in a digital world. Moment capturer. Former NYC teacher. Sharing thoughts on life, love, & what inspires. http://notesbynatalie.com