For Ty

Nathaniel Aaron Cole
2 min readMay 9, 2020

--

Death has this weird way of shocking us into feeling. It never comes at the right time, for there can be no right time for someone to depart this earth. It hits you like a truck out of nowhere and then your mind starts racing to piece together memories and moments that are suddenly the most precious thoughts in the world.

We’re experiencing a lot of collective trauma right now, connected by the threads of a man's life who’s energy spread to so many people.

Ty was of my elders’ generation — one that I don’t give enough credit to if I’m honest. There have been so many times in my life where I forget that we have and always will stand on the shoulders of the giants that came before us. Giants that fought to break down doors to celebrate life in venues they forged themselves. Giants that made music that simply couldn’t be ignored by the institutions that dominated the industry. They broke down barriers (or locks as Ty might have put it) so we could thrive. They are our giants. Our giants that didn’t close the door behind them.

Ty’s album artwork for “A Work Of Heart” shot by Benji Reid

Charlie Dark said that his respect for Ty grew even more once he learned that he was Nigerian (which was celebrated in his music) thus being a fellow grafter that had the awkward life of not pursuing an ‘acceptable’ profession that immigrant parents tend to lean towards on a surface (and security) level for their children. Like Charlie, Ty chose to pursue a career that was uncertain in one aspect, but undoubtedly and inevitably fulfilling in another.

The people that I see mourning Ty are my elders, they will always be my ‘Mums, Dads, Aunties and Uncles. I know that they all lost their brother, which means I lost an uncle that I didn’t get to know properly, and that hurts.

Like with Mac Miller, an artist’s music takes on a new life when they pass away. Ty has left behind a catalogue and legacy that stands proud in the foundations not just of UK Hip Hop, but UK Music as a whole and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Rest easy Ty, you will forever be missed by all.

Ty — Like You Never

“Mic check, even breathing is challenging
The music is a powerful thing
Especially when it’s used to build the power within”

--

--

Nathaniel Aaron Cole

I'm a writer/workshop facilitator/co-founder/researcher from East London. I talk about my Mental Health and self development…a lot