Unexpected Places

National HOSA
3 min readFeb 2, 2015

I have been involved with HOSA for over eleven years. I say eleven because my mother became a HOSA advisor when I was nine years old and I have been on many trips since then. Actually, my very first National Leadership Conference was in 2007 in Orlando, Florida. Throughout the years I have come across many HOSA members in the most unexpected places, particularly, in the last year when I served as a National Officer.

When I was started my term on the National Executive Council (NEC), I was nominated by the NEC to travel to Portland, Oregon and represent HOSA at the National Association of Parliamentarians Biennial Convention. On one of my flights I sat beside a man who was a Field Medic for the Army and his sister worked for the World Health Organization. I am a Public Health major and I did not want to waste this opportunity so we had a great conversation about health and where we see the industry going in the future. On the same trip I met Dr. Rempel who is a plastic surgeon and he was attending the conference. It was not long before we exchanged business cards and emails, he even requested me to serve as a judge for FBLA’s National Parliamentary competition this year. At the same conference I met another man whose wife was an advisor and he served as a judge for HOSA in the Parliamentary Procedure competition. The Speaker of the House for this conference was a radiologist and she had been working alongside of her local HOSA chapter for several years. (For the record- Parliamentary Procedure is cool and seeing such efficient meetings was absolutely beautiful).

Fast forward to a few months later when I was traveling to South Carolina’s State Leadership Conference when I met a past State Officer in the airport terminal. She still remembered her time spent with HOSA and how it inspired her to become a Registered Nurse.

Even at East Tennessee State University, where I am at school, people will recognize me from NLC earlier this year and we have wonderful talks about how HOSA has impacted our lives. I am also a Resident Advisor and many of my residents were involved in HOSA while they were in high school and have continued their membership into college.

Health Professionals, and HOSA members, can be found in the most unexpected places and a convention for Parliamentarians, an airport terminal, and a new school is no exception. HOSA has fathered more than 2.2 million alumni and that number grows every year. HOSA unites us and gives us a story that can be shared with a fellow member or someone new to the organization.

I encourage you to seek out other members, because they are not hard to find and be ready to share the good news of HOSA with a stranger. HOSA is 2.2 million strong and we are the future of health, so be ready HOSA members because the future starts now.

Remember to always keep HOSA on your lips and in your heart,

Bethany Mackey, Past National Officer

--

--

National HOSA

HOSA - Future Health Professionals: building better training, building better futures, Building a Better You!