LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE

The Best Android Wear Watch Today in 2017

🔴
5 min readOct 9, 2017

--

I had to write a story on the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE, because in my opinion it is the best Android Wear Smart Watch ever.

4G LTE, 3G nano Sim connectivity

Connectivity

I have tried many smart watches in the past and I came to the conclusion that the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE is the best Smart Watch ever because, it simple obliterates the competition. It can work as companion paired to your Smart Phone or it can work as a stand alone Smart Watch.

It has 4G LTE connectivity and it also works in 3G for those who wish to use a carrier besides AT&T or T-Mobile that support 4G LTE.

I travel a little bit but, when I do I want my devices to work flawlessly in other countries like in Europe or Mexico and South America.

I recently went to Mexico a couple of weeks and I just had to put the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE to the test as far as connectivity goes.

Mexico has 3 major carriers. The most popular one is “Telcel” the other is “Movistar” and just recently AT&T bought “Nextel- Unefón” who now offers 4G LTE connectity only.

Telcel just last recently has gone from 3G to 4G LTE. My question was, would my LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE work in “Telcel”? Sellers of the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE have said that if the Smart Watch was to be used in another country, the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE would only work on 3G.

So I took my LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE and I inserted a “Telcel 4G LTE” nano sim card to put it to the test and for my surprise, it worked perfectly.

So for anyone who said it would only work on 3G, let me tell you, it also works on 4G LTE. Remember, I used “Telcel” in Mexico. I did not try my LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE in “Movistar” or in “ Unefón” which is now owned by AT&T. But I can guarantee you that it works flawlessly with “Telcel” Mobile carrier.

Compatibility

The LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE uses Android operating system by Google. So if you have an iPhone you are out of luck.

The LG Watch Sport has hundreds of faces to choose from. The LG Watch Sport also is compatible with many Android Apps that you can download from Google’s Play Store. Make sure you look for Android Wear Apps.

Description

“OK Google” enabled so you can make calls, text, get reminders and browse freely without the need of a phone. W-Fi and Bluetooth enabled — or you can even pop in a SIM card to use with any GSM carrier worldwide (such as AT&T and T-Mobile or any other carriers that use a SIM card). For CDMA networks however, you can only use Wi-Fi and/or Bluetooth. Dynamic Design; 1.38-inch Full Circle P-OLED Display; Rotating side button for effortless navigation. IP68 water-resistant and dust resistant; Powerful 1.1 GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon Quad-Core MSM8909w Processor Music is always right on hand. Sync playlists directly to the watch or stream with Google Play Music. Cellular 4G LTE Funtionality is US ONLY.

  • Note: I used it in Mexico with “Telcel 4G LTE” mobile carrier and it worked perfect!

Specifications

Versions: W280; W280A (AT&T)

NETWORK:

LAUNCH:

BODY:

  • Dimensions: 45.4 x 51.2 x 14.2 mm (1.79 x 2.02 x 0.56 in)
  • Weight- ?
  • BuildStainless Steel 316L
  • SIM: Nano- Sim 3G and 4G LTE
  • IP68 certified — dust/water proof over 1.5 meter and 30 minutes

DISPLAY:

  • Type: P-OLED capacitive touchscreen, 16M colors
  • Size: 1.38 inches (~52.8% screen-to-body ratio)
  • Resolution: 480 x 480 pixels (~348 ppi pixel density)
  • Multitouch: Yes
  • ProtectionCorning Gorilla Glass 3

PLATFORM: OSAndroid Wear 2.0ChipsetQualcomm MSM8909W Snapdragon Wear 2100CPUQuad-core 1.1 GHz

MEMORY

CAMERA: No

SOUND: Yes

COMMUNICATION:

FEATURES:

  • SensorsAccelerometer, gyro, proximity, heart rate, barometer
  • Messaging: SMS, Email, IM
  • Browser: No
  • Java: No
  • MP3 player: Yes
  • Photo viewer:Yes
  • Voice dial/commands: Yes

BATTERY: Non-removable Li-Ion 430 mAh battery

CONS

  1. Cannot change wrist band because Wi-Fi and Bluetooth antenna are located in the wrist band.
  2. Battery drains in about 6 hours if you use Cellular connectivity, GPS, Hand Gestures, and MP3 Player all at once.
  3. Wrist band might not fit small wrists.

VERDICT

My verdict is what I have been saying since the beginning. It is the best Smart Watch ever. We just have to wait for the competition to try to top the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE.

iPhone’s New Apple Watch Series 3 finally lets you make phone calls. But has a few flaws to fix. I will write about that in another time. But the LG Watch Sport LG Watch SPORT Wi-Fi + 4G LTE still beats all its competition.

Claps

Don’t forget to send your claps.

--

--

🔴

The Truth Will Set You Free 🕊 Conservative Christian