The 54th Deadline: Philanthropy

Nhan Pham
2 min readSep 6, 2016

--

The 54th Deadline: Regardless of failure or success, you learn. Life grants people so many chances to get it right.

I have a particular fantasy of sorts. I have had this particular fantasy for many years now to be perfectly honest. I have a fantasy that I will help others in need when I am financially fortunate enough to do so comfortably. Heh, here I am talking like a big shot when I can barely take care of myself during a given week. In all seriousness, this particular dream of mine motivates me continuously.

I have been through my share of rough times. I was once an entitled college graduate who thought about only himself and nothing else. When I had to eat my share of humble pie, I learned how vital it is for someone else to help out when they can. Don’t get me wrong. What I am suggesting is much more elaborate than simply giving some homeless person a buck on the streets.

No. No way. I have bigger ambitions than that.

Philanthropy.

That’s the word I am talking about in particular.

At my worst moments, I learned what it means to have people in your corner. When I was drowning mentally, certain individuals tossed me that metaphorical life preserver to keep me afloat. When I literally was in a financial crisis, people came to my aid once again. Needless to say, without anyone giving a crap about me, I would probably be in major trouble by now.

In other words, I want to give back. I want to give back in a significant way when I can finally do so. I desire a means to help someone down the road in such a manner that it keeps them going like I have been doing for the past few years.

Life is short. There are so many things we can experience, but we need a boost along the way to make sure certain things play out correctly.

I want to be hope incarnate. Someday.

“Hope is my catalyst.” — Nhan Pham

Originally published at The 54th Deadline.

--

--

Nhan Pham

#WSU alumnus. #GoCougs. Gamer. Aspiring chef. Blogger (the54thdeadline.com). Writer/Editor for #EloTalk. My cat's name is Mango.