Pinterest: A Usability Study

How Pinterest Onboards New Users

Nico Mizono
6 min readJul 29, 2014

I have been an avid Pinterest user almost since its inception in 2010. I love the product, its grid system design, and I use it nearly everyday to get ideas and inspiration for my projects.

When I learned how to do usability testing from Kate Rutter and Laura Klein at Tradecraft, I wanted to get a fresh perspective from new users about their first experience with Pinterest.

So, I took my new skills and examined how Pinterest onboards new users. To my surprise, the app I once thought perfect, had flaws.

Below is an overview of the project, some of the issues I uncovered, and the designs suggestions I created to fix them. Enjoy.

OBJECTIVE

  1. Identify any pain points of how Pinterest onboards new users
  2. Identify any pain points around a user’s first pinning experience.
Pinterest’s onboarding as of 6/1/14

TEST PARAMETERS

What: Pinterest web application (Chrome web browser)

Who: Seven people between the ages of 26-39, male and female with web usages between 25-90 hours per week

Profiles of the people I tested

Where: At local coffee shops in San Francisco and at users’ houses

TASKS TESTED

1. Create a new account

2. Pin (collect) 5 items of personal interest

Tasks were determined based on Pinterest’s purpose — to create a platform to discover ideas for your projects or interests*. I asked opened-ended questions to encourage natural insights and responses.

PROCESS

Notes

I took notes in each session and used Silverback, a video recording program, to film the tests.

Notes from usability test sessions

Usability Issues by Grouping

After I finished running the tests, I analyzed and synthesized the data by grouping the pain points into general categories.

I assigned each user a color and put their color under the specific issue they experienced.

FINDINGS: 3 Key Issues

Issue #1: Creating a Board for the First Time is Confusing

Pinterest shows a list of possible board names when a user creates a board for the first time.

List of possible board names as of 6/1/14

People think Feeling Stuck? Try one of these: is the primary call to action because it is highlighted.

“I have to choose one of these? Why? I’m not wearing Lebron, I'm certainly not cooking him, and I've never invited him to my house.” -User 2

Also, users were not able to see the Create a Board text box because the instructions cover it. They feel forced to choose one of these options rather than create their own board name.

Finally, people were confused when the list of possible board names did not reappear after pinning a second item to a board.

Pinterest only shows the list of possible board names once

“Am I supposed to make my own board? Isn't it just going to show me the categories again?” -User 4

Design Suggestions

  1. Change the highlighted primary call to action from Feeling stuck: Try one of these? to Create a Board. This defines the board creation process more clearly and establishes a mental model in users’ minds that remains consistent throughout the site.
  2. Move the Create a Board Instructions above the Create a Board text field so people see the primary call to action — Create a Board — immediately and more easily.
  3. Move the list of possible board names into a drop down list. Here, the list serves as a backup option in case users get stuck and need ideas.

Issue #2: Home Feed Content is Random and Not Personalized

After the onboarding tour, the user proceeds to their home feed, which every user I interviewed said was filled with random and irrelevant content.

One person I interviewed, who pinned a picture of NBA basketball player Stephen Curry during the onboarding tour, was shown a picture of women’s toenail paint in his home feed.

“I'm a guy. Why am I looking Detroit Tigers women’s toenail polish?” -User 4

If Pinterest wants to deliver a richer experience to new users, they need to ensure relevant content from the start.

Side note: I am curious to know what Pinterest’s drop off rate is here because all the male users I tested said they would stop using the site at this point.

Design Suggestions

  1. Personalize the content based on which gender was selected during the registration process:
Gender selection during sign up flow

2. Have users choose 5 categories of interest instead of one specific interest.

It makes more sense to have users start from a big picture level (categories) versus a more granular level (specific items) because: 1. It reduces a user’s cognitive load 2. It moves them more quickly into the main part of the site and 3. It captures more data about their likes and interests to provide more relevant content in their home feed.

Issue #3: The Post-Pin Modal Window Confuses Users

The post-pin modal window is a window that appears after a person adds a pin to a board.

Post-pin modal window

It stays on the screen for 8 seconds and then automatically disappears.

There are two issues here:

  1. Automatically closing the window after 8 seconds confuses users because they're not sure if they clicked out of the screen or if it disappeared on its own.

“That’s weird. Did I just make that disappear? I’m confused.” -User 7

2. Users don't understand that Pinterest is showing them related content (to the item they just pinned) in this window.

Design Suggestions:

1. Don't make the screen automatically disappear after 8 seconds. Have the user exit the screen.

2. Change the copy from Also On to Related pins and Related Boards, and show the user the related content.

NEXT STEPS

Usability testing is the beginning of my design process and this step helped me understand user’s needs and goals. The next step would be to build a prototype and test it to see if my recommendations fixed the issues. If so, I would approach a product manager and a developer to discuss implementation.

I would love to hear your thoughts, comments or questions about this article. Contact me to get in touch!

I do not work for or represent Pinterest. I am currently working on UX projects @Tradecraft under Kate Rutter and Laura Klein. Pinterest is a product I love and use daily, and I'm exploring how I might make it better. Special thanks to Karen Bhatia for her editing prowess.

--

--