How To Structure Your Day For Success

Nicola
6 min readDec 26, 2023
Photo by ConvertKit on Unsplash

I nearly always start my days by taking the time to write out a plan for the things I want to get done that day. And although the process can take me anything from 15–30 minutes, I find it’s time well spent to keep me organised and on track.

This is in stunning contrast to the days when I just used to arrive at my desk and deal with the things that “seemed” the most important, were the quickest or the easiest tasks.

These days my list is carefully thought out and planned and covers all aspects of my life to attempt to not only keep some semblance of being organised, but also allows me to move forward on things that are important but not necessarily urgent.

In this post, I’ve asked and answered a series of questions which may help you decide whether having a more structed approach to your day would be beneficial to you too.

How Does Having A Structure Help?

My daily plan is the cornerstone to my day. Like everyone else, I get interrupted multiple times during the day and knowing I have my day planned out helps me get back to where I intended to be quickly and easily.

Isn’t A To-Do List Enough?

At its most basic level, having any sort of to-do list is better than nothing and will at least…

--

--

Nicola

Would-Be Writer, Mother of 3 grown-up children, just trying to do my best every day.