Open Source: Repositories

Nitkarsh Chourasia
4 min readMay 8, 2024

Some good beginner friendly repositories.

Photo by Roman Synkevych on Unsplash

So, it is 4th day of my e-blog.

So, Who am I?
I am officially the maintainer of two repositories.
One is based on the applications of Python Programming Language.
It has more then 30k+ Stars and 12k+ Forks.

The other one is based on the web-apps created using the JavaScript programming language.
It has more then 1k+ Stars and 800k+ Forks.

These two repositories are beginner friendly as well as for advanced program contributions, too.
They are:
thinkswell/javascript-mini-projects: Awesome Collection of amazing javascript mini-projects. (github.com)
geekcomputers/Python: My Python Examples (github.com)

While you create a Pull Request.
Do make sure to tag me.
Because I maintain and also review the each and every line of the program for security issues, Consistency in writing styles according to the official style guide of the respective programming langauge and whether it follows the repository’s standards for contributions or not.

Why Contribute to Open Source?
There is a book named: Show Your Work! a book by Austin Kleon

Show Your Work! by Austin Kleon

Which highlights the importance of showing your works done to the world no matter whether you are the expert in that particular domain or not.

It is about showing the journey and in the process finding really awesome opportunities which otherwise wouldn’t have been possible without showing the work.
It shows how being discovered and at the same time documenting your journey online makes you much more ahead than peers possessing the same skills or higher as compared to you.
Just like I am doing right now of showing my work to the world as well as documenting it.
It is also a way for me to document my journey for myself to gauge various parameters from:
How much I improved to lot more parameters to gauge. If I ever looked in the past and analysed how far I have really come.

Practical Importance:

Photo by Christina @ wocintechchat.com on Unsplash

I apply to various job profiles to find myself that they really ask for my GitHub and LinkedIn profile.
In short, it opens me to opportunities which would remain unknown as of otherwise.

So, above are the two repositories.
Start contributing today.
Do tag me for review purposes. Why? Because without it, you won’t be able to merge the Pull Request into the parent (respective) repository from your clone repository.

So, what are you waiting for? Visit the repositories and start making quality commits. Why? Because programs like 1 + 1 or something like that will be discarded.
Try to show some real efforts.
Beginners new open source contributors or Beginner programmers don’t fear of anything, even if you don’t Pull Request good program for merging, your efforts will be shown in the program thus I will make sure they are merged.
But make sure to try to commit good programs or refactors of the remaining programs.

Make sure to follow me on LinkedIn and GitHub.
Below are my details.

<footer>

This is me, Nitkarsh Chourasia.
Trying to get my way into the industry of technologists.
Show me some love. I am bad at writing.
Your suggestions would help me a lot.
Try to be brutally honest with your feedbacks.
Thank you.

Here are my other handles.

LinkedIn: www.linkedin.com/in/nitkarshchourasia
GitHub:
https://github.com/NitkarshChourasia

Do connect here.

</footer>

Write blogs to teach Python Programming Language | by Nitkarsh Chourasia | May, 2024 | Medium

As of my last blog (link available above). I was unsure on what format to start python programming related blogs.
So, I came up with the following format for me start writing my Python Programming related blogs.
Heading represents the main topic of discussion.
and Sub-heading the Day X of Python will be starred for the given blog.

Heading

Day 0 of Python

Heading

Day 1 of Python

Parallelism

Day 2 of Python

Heading

Day 3 of Python

List Comprehensions

Day 4 of Python

Links to some of my previous blogs are:

The Balance Life!. Day 2 of my e-blog. | by Nitkarsh Chourasia | Apr, 2024 | Medium

The biggest but not the best.. Day 1 of my e-blog update and… | by Nitkarsh Chourasia | Apr, 2024 | Medium

--

--