The Magic Cup

Nitsy
4 min readJun 22, 2018

--

It started when I was in standard 7, all of 12 years old. The pain was excruciating and I couldn’t stand or sit for the next 2 days. Since it was winter vacations, I didn’t have to skip school.

The pain has gotten better over the years, or I’d like to think I’ve gotten accustomed to this monthly tantrum which my uterus throws. When my menstrual journey started I didn’t even know why this happens until a session on periods was conducted in school for all the girls. Johnson&Johnson had come in to create awareness about menstrual hygiene and using sanitary pads instead of cloth. Thankfully, my mother had already introduced me to sanitary pads which is still not even a choice for countless women in our country.

Little did I know then, that my world would change when I met Sonal Jain in Bangalore during my Jagriti Yatra in December 2016. She educated me on the female reproductive anatomy and how much waste is being generated due to the use of sanitary pads. This is when I got introduced to the menstrual cup by ‘Boondh’. I was intrigued by the entire conversation and immediately purchased one. It was funny deciding which color cup to pick for this new experience I would be embarking on.

When I got back post Yatra, I tried using the cup after watching a couple of videos on YouTube and reading a few blogs. It was difficult and I was scared. I gave up in 3 attempts and closed the chapter on it. Since the last year and a half, there has been an increase in the number of conversations around menstrual hygiene and discussions around the health and well being of women which piqued my interest back on this issue. I had been patiently following social media posts of friends who shared their cupverting stories and engaging with women who have made the switch to understand the process with more clarity.

I used my Boondh menstrual cup this month, June 2018. Better late than never, right? And I couldn’t have been more excited about it. (Hence this post, Duh!)

My Magic Cup

According to a report by NDTV, there are 336 million women and girls who experience menstruation in India and 121 million of them use sanitary pads. This results in more than 113,000 ton of menstrual waste being generated annually. Given that the sanitary pads are 90% plastic, it makes disposing them even more difficult. Apart from the health hazards it poses to women who use it, it is also harmful to the waste collectors. With all the privilege I’ve grown up with, I’d like to think of myself as a millennial. Nevertheless, all my life I have wrapped the pad in a newspaper and thrown it with all the other waste of the house. Segregation of waste is a relatively new concept for me. Yet, when I think that the first pad I ever used still exists in the world, it makes me feel sad and disappointed.

While reading an article on Livemint recently about the safety of using sanitary pads, I was aghast that I have never questioned how sanitary pads are made or what happens after I dispose them off. This results in companies compromising on the quality of the product, adding extra chemicals or fragrances to it and not thinking of alternatives which can be both eco-friendly and healthy for its consumers.

The Boondh Cup is affordable, environment friendly and a sustainable alternative to sanitary napkins. Once inserted, it felt slightly uncomfortable at first but I soon got the hang of it. There are different folds that might work for you, the ‘punch-down fold’ worked best for me. Though there are number of videos available on the internet, I found this to be the most helpful. To be on the safe side I used sanitary pads along with the cup on the first and second day of my periods. By the third day, I was jumping around with happiness and my new found freedom of using the magic cup. The best part though was sleeping like a boss with giving no fucks about stains, posture, leakage and smell.

Having said all that, cleanliness is a big factor in this entire process. Insertion, removal and emptying the cup can be difficult and messy for some women; especially in public bathrooms. It wasn’t easy for me either. I have taken 1.5 years, a lot of conversations, articles, research and videos to get here. Though I’m glad to have taken the first step, it will certainly take practice to understand my body and become more comfortable in the entire process. The one thing I am thrilled about the most is that the tribe of women talking about their bodies is increasing and that there is no dearth of support if you’re looking for it.

Apart from the Boondh Cup, there is also The Diva Cup which a friend uses and has given good feedback. In case you’re still wondering about menstrual cups but want to start contributing towards a better environment, there are reusable bio-degradable cotton pads available in the market now. A couple of friends use Saathi Pads and Ecofemme. You can also checkout ‘The Eco Trunk’ for some guidance and inspiration on sustainable menstruation.

On an average, a woman uses around 16,000 pads in her lifetime which could be around 130 kg of avoidable waste. It is important to start asking the right questions and exploring answers. But, Action Changes Things (ACT!). If you are looking for more information, suggestions or a conversation; please reach out.

Let us aim to make our lives and the world a cleaner, safer and greener place.

--

--

Nitsy

Being Unfiltered, and Chaotic || Embracing Uncertainty and Courageous actions