Day 12 — The Great Boondoggler

Northfort
2 min readDec 19, 2015

--

The ride out Pittsburgh was too easy. I set out for the Panhandle trail that connects Pittsburgh to Steubenville, OH via the West Virginia panhandle. The old rails to trails path made for smooth flat riding and a dusty bike. Such smooth riding took me past my exits, and I had to backtrack on every turn.

Pennsylvania and West Virginia border on the Panhandle Trail.

There was no planned spot to stay at; no campground on the map, or pre-booked visit with friends. Pure road and pedaling; continuing until I couldn’t go anymore. Off into the countryside, my only plan involved asking permission to throw my tent up in a yard or field.

Most of the day went smooth until Ohio where the roads were crumbly in Steubenville and a few planned roads turned into an impassable freeway. Filled with country gravel roads where slow pedaling takes over, rural Ohio is painful.

When it came time to start thinking about tonight’s camp, I was low on battery and signal. There’re several ways to find sleeping arrangements. You could ask a farmer, police station or fire department if you can pitch a tent there or in the local park; none of which I was around. Then there’s freedom camping also known as stealth and bandit camping.

Freedom camping is the better term for finding a secluded spot where no one would stumble upon your camp or visibly see your tent from the road. Early leave and leave-no-trace principals apply here and takes some grit.

Boondoggling is the loving term my Mother and Father use to blanket what I do. So when I pulled into a Churchyard that night, having asked a nursery where one was, my Mother replied, “Boondoggling it, eh?”

I am, and in fact, they know they’re miss representing the term. Citing also that the term boondoggling has been used to define migrating communities living in RV’s on US government land.

But there I was beside a Church, The Great Boondoggler, for the night. Talking to a few locals who decided to stop by for a chat.

About: An Adventurist, writer, and photographer Christopher Barr’s current journey takes him cycling across the United States of America (Sorry, Mom). Northfort is a home for all the adventure-centric details. Stop by and ask him anything. This entry originally appeared at www.Northfort.us.

--

--