I am in an Abusive Relationship with Note Taking Apps

Anthony Gifford
9 min readMay 5, 2023

I would describe myself as a PKM enthusiast. But I’m also a PKM application enthusiast and this means that I often have found myself falling down a rabbit hole lined with new shiny things. This has proven to be the downfall of my ability to process my notes and put them to good use. As someone who is often brimming with ideas and always consuming content, from either on or offline sources I’m caught in this spiral of collecting notes, and sometimes it feels like collecting for the sake of collecting.

I was giving this some thought. I came to realise that there is a fear, or should I say, a lack of confidence, in my own system. I’m often so concerned, what if it’s not efficient enough? Am I making sure it’s ‘future proof’? Do I like the aesthetic? Are the plugins enough for my needs? But what if my needs change? Oh that looks nice. Oh a new app, let’s start again.

It’s exhausting.

Photo by Nik Shuliahin 💛💙 on Unsplash

In my years of application-flipping, I have come to understand a simple truth; the perfect note taking application does not exist. It would be nice if it did, but it doesn’t. There is a lot of love for Obsidian out there, but I hate the way it works on mobile, I also don’t like that it can feel overwhelming as the notes mount up and the folder and document structure that I apply can get confused, cluttered and is ultimately…

--

--

Anthony Gifford

Hi, I'm Ant and I write about anything from History, Mental Health, Productivity & Tech. I am a PKM Enthusiast and am currently writing my first novel.