Music is Medicine and Much More.

Insideout
3 min readApr 7, 2016

Music really is medicine. Who has not needed a dose of it to help them get through the trials and tribulations of life?

Free hugs, because there is always someone who needs one (photo credit “Insideout”)

Yet, it is much more than that. Music has such power! It has the power to bring people together, crossing social and economic barriers. All of the seemingly thousands of labels that separate and divide us slip away. For are we not there for the same reason?

To embrace the music, the vibe.

The young guy in the center( Silas) was invited on stage by a guitar player he admires. (photo credit “insideout”)

To have our hearts lifted in song.

She took a breath. her voice took away mine

It matters not if the person beside you is a friend or a stranger, rich or poor. from the city or the country.

You are there for some of the same reasons, to escape in the music.

Or get lost in the music you create

To band together to celebrate what the artists have created.

painting at a music fest
Art created by a hooper and me
Fire spinner

From the young to the old, there is a connection with both the music and the people.

celebrate!
“Through the bubble “

What has shooting bands and the people at festivals and music events taught me, beyond the fact I can improve and grow as a photographer? That we let the labels that we put on ourselves, or others put on us, define and divide us. Yet we have so many more things connecting us, than keeping us apart. We can all come together as people. That does not mean giving up on the causes and the“fight” for the causes that are dear to us. It means having compassion and respect for all people, regardless of any labels. At least that is what my experiences have taught me.

Special thanks to Randomly Me for assistance in editing. A big thanks to Sean Howard for pushing me to create here.

--

--

Insideout

I am not a writer, I am a reader. I also consider myself a thinker. I do have a few things I would like to say sometimes.