10 Books Recommended by Cal Newport I Wish I Read Years Ago (They Changed My Life)

Don’t allow intellectual mediocrity to hold you back.

Novel Nest
10 min readNov 9, 2023
10 Books Recommended by Cal Newport I Wish I Read Years Ago (They Changed My Life)
Cal Newport/ Edited in Photoshop By Author

Fix your life by doing what’s important.

Cal Newport is a computer scientist and an author. With his ‘Deep Questions’ podcast, he tells us to exercise ‘digital minimalism’ and practice ‘deep work’ so we can lead fulfilling and meaningful lives.

Whether you are a smartphone addict or a sucker for nature, Newport’s ideas have an appeal to all.

Unsurprisingly, his book recommendations embody the same messages.

1. Stillness is the Key by Ryan Holiday

10 Books Recommended by Cal Newport I Wish I Read Years Ago (They Changed My Life)
Image: Amazon

Tune out the noise. Tune in to what matters.

This is exactly the kind of book you’d expect from a stoic like Holiday.

The author reminds us that we are overwhelmed with social media and 24/7 connection. As a result, we tend to overlook the importance of calm and quiet.

Most of our reactions are impulsive. We don’t allow ourselves to be in the moment and reflect.

--

--

Novel Nest

Discover Non-Fiction and Intellectual Books Recommendations. Find new favorites in our diverse book lists and on our blog: https://www.thenovelnest.com/blog