10 Books That Taught Me More Than My University Degree

True learning happens outside the walls of a classroom.

Novel Nest
10 min readJan 4, 2024

I resent my university.

There is so much I could have learned. But thanks to a failing Quality Assurance department, I learned the bare minimum.

I almost feel bad for saying this as I met many amazing teachers during my university life.

Maybe the university was never meant to teach me everything. Maybe the only purpose of the university was to show me the path. And I had to self-learn skills… which I kind of did.

Today’s books are jam-packed with knowledge. If you read and apply them all, their benefit to your life will surpass that of a formal degree.

1. Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman

10 Books That Taught Me More Than My University Degree
Image: Amazon

Why do we become hangry?

Kahneman tells us about the two systems that exist in our brains. These are not two physical systems but instead a metaphor for how our brain functions.

  1. System one is impulsive and it helps us in making snap decisions.

--

--

Novel Nest

Discover Non-Fiction and Intellectual Books Recommendations. Find new favorites in our diverse book lists and on our blog: https://www.thenovelnest.com/blog