Our Children Are No Longer Reading For Fun And We Need to Find a Solution ASAP

Is the joy of reading dead?

Novel Nest
6 min readJun 1, 2024

Books were my childhood friends.

No, I wasn’t a lonely child. I had a lot of human friends too.

Books brought light, color, and magic to my life. The joy I found in stories, magazines, and words was unparalleled. They helped me get to know different people, go on adventures, and experience a range of emotions.

They played a huge role in making me who I am today.

My wish is for every child to experience the magic of books and reading.

The grim reality

Here is the reality though…

Children aren’t reading as much nowadays.

Just look at the entertainment options that they have. iPads, phones, Netflix, TikTok, and whatnot.

Who would pick a black-and-white printed book in this case?

They might be reading for school or college where they have no other option. They are certainly not reading for joy.

And that is horrifying.

I know times change and technologies change etc etc. But to imagine a whole generation deprived of the pleasure of reading is painful.

--

--

Novel Nest

Discover Non-Fiction and Intellectual Books Recommendations. Find new favorites in our diverse book lists and on our blog: https://www.thenovelnest.com/blog