The reincarnation of oil paint tubes

Ofir Hirsh
2 min readJun 6, 2018

--

El guajiro aventurero / The adventurer peasant
Oil, oil paint tubes and caps on plywood, 51 H x 44 W cm / 20.1 H x 17.3 W in
Created by Ofir Hirsh under the Caminante identity in 2018.

I have always been emotionally attached to my art supply scrap and leftovers, which I never have the heart to throw away. I usually hoard them and later on, I utilize them in creating a variety of mixed media works. As Caminante, I found a treasure of plywood panels, which seemed the perfect substrate for unconventional works, and inspired me to finally utilize my junk. My favorite remains were the used oil paint tubes. Whenever I purchase new tubes, I feel excited knowing that each tube’s paint will contribute to the creation of numerous works. I squeeze each tube so many times with my hands and fingers, that no wonder I feel physically attached to them. I also like their challenging sculpting qualities.
Throughout the centuries, oil colors were the chosen medium of artists in the creation of art works, and the invention of the paint tube in the 19th century changed the way some artists approached painting. Renoir mentioned that: “Without tubes of paint, there would have been no Impressionism.”
With all the enthusiasm and respect to the new media; Digital art, video etc. a significant percentage of today’s art sales around the world are of “Oil On Canvas”. Nevertheless, the tube, that convenient vessel that carries the paint before it is applied onto the canvas, had been neglected. Because of the obvious recycling benefits, and the important role of the tube in the art making process, I think it’s time to give it a stage, and I hereby call my fellow artists around the world to utilize their used oil paint tubes and other scrap in their art. Finally, paint tubes and brushes will have their moment of glory in art history.

--

--