A Day In The Life Of Hannah Pace: Triathlon Athlete

Oh So Yummy
4 min readFeb 3, 2017

--

Can you tell us a little bit about yourself and how you ended up an athlete?

My Name is Hannah Pace, I am now 23 years old, and I have been working in Marketing ever since I graduated in 2015. I’m also a semi-professional triathlete and try to fit in about 20 hours of training a week (usually at weird hours of the morning or late at night).

I’m constantly busy, but my job and triathlon are things that I am extremely passionate about so it works. I must admit I can be a grouch at times especially after a hard session or one that’s gone a bit wrong but luckily a lot of people have my back.

Sport has always been something I have enjoyed throughout my life and ever since I was a little kid I was always involved in some kind of activity.

(I have a very supportive mother who has helped to get me into trying new sports throughout the year — she is an ex-swimmer herself).

In secondary school, I took up long distance running and started getting into it quite competitively. At 18, after a brief pause in running I came across a triathlon for beginners by accident, decided to give it a go and as you could say, the rest is history.

What is your favourite part of preparing yourself for a race?

I would say the tapering. Usually if it is an important race, then it will have meant weeks or even months of hard training.

Race week is always a relief as I get to back off training and it feels great to have some time to just laze around the house. Usually, my days are a mad dash against the clock.

Are there certain dietary guidelines that athletes, such as yourself, should follow?

A lot of athletes follow strict diet plans with targets for ideal race weight etc..

Lets just say I’m a lot more lenient when it comes to eating. I always make sure I eat enough especially pre and post training, and in general, I do try to balance things out but I also enjoy my food a lot, so I’m not ready to give up my treats

Run us through the few hours before a race, how do you prepare yourself?

I’m pretty relaxed when it comes to this, and I don’t have a set routine. Usually, races are early morning, so I tend to get up, eat and get going to the race venue. Most importantly I just try to keep calm; I’ve done the hard work — this is the fun part.

I’ve always wondered, what do you eat during a race or right before one?

In triathlon, especially when it comes to the longer events where you’re on the go for several hours, nutrition is critical (both pre, during and post-race). About 2 hours before a race I’ll usually have toast with jam, Nutella or whatever I can find at the breakfast buffet (we tend to race abroad a lot, so you learn to adapt).

During the actual race, on the bike, I like to stick to solids. I have found the Oh So Yummy bars extremely handy during this segment. The fact that they are really tasty means that I have something to look forward to while cycling (hours of being on the saddle can get a bit tedious).

I tend to nibble on half a bar every 30 minutes or so, and I consider it as my treat (apart from playing an essential role in refuelling). I especially like the chocolate and hazelnut ones.

How do you cool off after a race and do you listen to any music while running?

As I mentioned before, a lot of people have my back, and I always get a lot of support during races. Hence for me, apart from a short jog or dip in the water, my ‘cooling off’ involves a chat/ laugh over coffee with friends.

It’s something that I always look forward to and it’s always great to catch up with them.

What helps to keep you motivated?

People often tell me they admire how much I sacrifice for the sport but to be honest, I really don’t consider it as a sacrifice.

I am doing something I love hence for me it’s a lot of fun — that is what keeps me going. I always told myself that the moment I stopped enjoying the sport would be the time for me to move on.

The fact that I have so made so many great friends through the sport who I train and race with is also a huge help in keeping me motivated.

--

--