Death is a Miracle

Oladetoun Gbemisola Mary
3 min readMay 26, 2022

--

Photo by Eyasu Etsub on Unsplash

Nobody died and I am definitely not contemplating suicide (“With long life, I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.”). However, for some weird reasons, I’ve thought a little bit more about death recently, much more than I have ever done in my entire life. I’ve recently been ruminating about the phenomenon called death. It’s just so interesting that one minute a creature is alive, living, breathing, actively processing various body metabolism, and then boom💥 , that same creature dies, breathing stops, heart beating halted!

Death is something that happens every day, as a matter of fact, every minute and second and it’s quite surprising that we don’t talk about it as much as we do other things. The phenomenon called death is such an interesting one to me, the human response to its occurrence is even far more interesting than the phenomenon itself. If there’s one thing we all are sure about, it is DEATH. We have this certainty of its occurrence but simultaneously have this fear of it and the shock from it as well.

Photo by Fey Marin on Unsplash

I personally think death is quite an intriguing wonder, I once stumbled on a write-up sometime ago that referred to death as a unifier. One of the strongest things that unify us all; Human beings, plants, animals, the rich, the poor, old, young, sick, and healthy succumb to the cold hands of death at different times and seasons. In the variety of our views, opinions, and culture, every single one of us has a unifier called Death. I once heard someone say, “We all are human beings but some human beings are more human beings than others”. However, death didn’t get that memo, in its own world, all human beings are equally human beings. And like I said earlier, death is quite a strong unifier for humanity.

Some time ago, I stumbled on a nice song titled “million little miracles” and I was singing it repeatedly in my room and I began to ruminate on the million miracles that I have personally experienced. That day taught me that there are quite a large number of things that I enjoy daily and consider normal but they are actually mind-blowing miracles! And suddenly I was prompted in my spirit man to also include death in the miracles that I was offering gratitude for and that sounded really awkward to me. Why should I be grateful for death? Isn’t death supposed to be a bad thing? Why should death be considered a miracle? Isn’t this the same phenomenon that hurts people and snatches the people they love away from them? But again, I was prompted by the holy spirit to imagine a world without death; A world where people don’t die and disappointedly, I didn’t like the picture in my imagination. Could you take a minute to imagine what the world will be like if people don’t die and share your imagination with me in the comment section? Perhaps maybe, you’ll get a result that differs from mine. Based on my own imagination that day, I came to quite a conclusion that death, yes, death is a miracle.

Reading through one of Sofia Chen’s articles also gave me another different line of thought. Knowing very well for sure that if Jesus tarries, I will also experience death, what then can I do to make that experience different? How do I live a life that blesses even beyond death? How do I present my life in a way that even in death, it still worships, and even in the grave, it still blesses? I strongly wish, beyond many other things that even when my body succumbs to the cold hands of death, my life will continually bear witness of God and forever bless humanity.

--

--