I left my home country!

Oladetoun Gbemisola Mary
4 min readApr 21, 2022

--

Photo by Dino Reichmuth on Unsplash

For the first time in my entire existence, I traveled out of Nigeria last week, I went to the Republic of Benin. And I’m about to give you all a virtual taste of my experience there😎.

First of all, it was a road trip, it took us approximately 15 hours to get to GNENKOURU-KALI village Nikki in the Republic of Benin from Ilorin, Nigeria so please if you have money and you want to take that trip, kindly book a flight😂😂(just kidding, the road trip was a lot of fun too😅). We spent five days in that village and we were there for an evangelism outreach(our beautiful feet took the gospel of Christ to the Republic of Benin😌😌). We lodged in the classroom of the only high school in the village(the students were on vacation) and, NO, it wasn’t that bad🥲

One thing that stuck about the Bariba people was their receptivity, those people are so nice and so accommodating, they were always smiling and it just got me thinking, these people are really limited when it comes to modern-day resources, they didn’t have many cars and they move around mostly with bikes or on foot. They spend so much energy trying to drill water out of their local boreholes and yet they’d still have so much fun while doing it, they’re always talking, gisting, and playing around at the well. And I kept remembering the number of times, I had kept myself from enjoying life just because there were things I didn’t have, times when I had deprived myself of the beauty of the life that God has given me because of insufficiency or lack or failure. But I saw these people that didn’t have as much as I do, living so joyfully, so beautifully with smiles always on their faces every time.

Photo by Ivan Shilov on Unsplash

Another thing that shocked me was how much language barrier can humble a human being. Language is definitely one of the greatest mysteries of all time. I don’t care how smart, rich or intelligent you are, language barrier will gracefully humble you😂😂. I literally had to get a translator with me before I was able to successfully buy a SIM card.

And then the simplicity of the gospel🥺, no big Rhema, no deep theology, the gospel is simple and that simplicity of the love of God blows my mind every time! We spoke to them about the love of God through Jesus(some of them were already believers) and the simplicity with which the gospel was communicated was just so beautiful. Yes, we attended some of the few churches on Easter and guysss, their Sunday service was so homely, their songs were beautiful and you could literally feel the joy of servicing in the sound of their worship🥰

Did I mention that I met some really amazing minds on this trip? Oh, my bad🤦‍♀️. I made friends with some really nice and beautiful people, people of different ages, nationalities, careers, social and financial standing together spent time in a foreign village and in few days we became a huge happy family❤️.

At the republic of Benin, they seem to have more extreme weather conditions than in Nigeria. Their rain was sooo rainy, their sun was soooo sunny and their wind was soooo windy. Irrespective of all the differences I experienced, we traveled there, experienced their culture and way of life, preached the gospel, learned a bit of their language, made friends and laughed a lot. And I definitely want to do it again!🤗

--

--