Women of Wednesday: Shanon Lee on #MeToo and Advocating for Survivors

Olivia A. Cole
3 min readApr 11, 2018

--

WOMEN OF WEDNESDAY is a micro-interview series featuring women of color in various industries and walks of life, focused on highlighting their pursuits and making it easy for readers to support their endeavors. If you would like to be featured, please submit your answers to the below five questions here.

Shanon Lee, Survivor Activist & Storyteller, Washington, D.C.

1. Tell us about the work you’re doing and why it’s important.

I spread awareness about issues I care about and amplify the voices of women. In 2014, I shared my story of experiencing domestic violence and sexual assault — not realizing how much it would resonate with others. Writing about overcoming marital rape led me to work in film and TV, providing a bigger platform to tell my story and the stories of others. Nothing matters more than when a survivor tells me they were inspired by my story: I am an advocate for life. The #MeToo Movement came along and it is even more imperative survivors are represented from all walks of life and all realms of experience.

2. What has been the biggest challenge you’ve faced in pursuing the work that’s important to you?

Public figures are human and we are still working through our own stuff. I struggle with symptoms of PTSD. Whether I am at an event or at home on social media, there will be someone who has discovered my work for the first time and wants to share their own experience of trauma. I may not be in the emotional space to receive it. It is hard to create boundaries. Until #MeToo, it was difficult to push projects or publish writing about domestic violence and sexual assault unless it was Domestic Violence Awareness Month or Sexual Assault Awareness Month. The media focus has shifted, but stories that do not fit a certain narrative are still censored. For example, I wrote a recent piece for Healthline on Black Women and #MeToo that was blocked from being promoted on Facebook. That is frustrating.

3. What do you need in order to continue your work in the way you envision?

I must continually connect with individuals and organizations that understand the value of my work and how it positively impacts the lives of others. No one makes it to the top on their own. Every milestone I have reached has been the direct result of connecting with someone who respected my vision and believed in me enough to invest their time, money, or talent.

4. Where and how can we support you to make #3 happen?

Now more than ever, we need to elevate marginalized voices. I run essay writing workshops for survivors of sexual assault in partnership with local grassroots organizations and journalism workshops for women. These workshops are not always accessible to those that may need them the most. Follow my work on mylove4writing.com and connect with me to learn more about how you can sponsor an aspiring writer/journalist. I would love to hear from you. If you are a writer, publisher, or host with the platform to share what I am doing with your audience, please reach out.

5. What is your favorite quote?

“When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.” — Paulo Coelho, The Alchemist

--

--