The Sunken Cross

Anthony Groulx
1 min readMay 20, 2022

--

A Wooden Cross in a Springtime Flood, photographed in Bay City, MI, 2020

I seek the rising sun because
I know how long it takes
To rise up from the sinking mass
And with silent eyes prostrate

I pulled my cross out of the water
On the day I first arose
I dropped it then and down it sank
So deep down the free-diver goes

To hoist the monument from its tomb
Of long forgotten and misplaced
We wear a mask of compassion now
But I have witnessed man’s face

As women scowl, mother’s of the world
At life that they have made
We think if we ignore what’s present
That we will avoid our fate

But terror increases one hundred times
If you let pass what leers from the gate
So dive pick up your sunken cross
Rescue your Self from the among waves

Confront the danger while it still waits
Your lust, anger, envy of what’s great
There is no time beyond today
Go forth in recovery; feel fear, be afraid

Then stand on the hill of the rising sun
Erect the life the sun has made
Let shine, be bright, and break horizon
As the sunken cross risen points the way

--

--

Anthony Groulx

Anthony Groulx is an American poet raised in Bay City, Michigan. He graduated from Saginaw Valley State University and works as a freelance writer.