The Crucible II

Mr Taiwo
3 min readNov 6, 2021

--

Our mental picture of Idere Expressway

On the day of the journey, the skies were as clear as as crystal. The breeze was gentle and soothing on the skin. It took several minutes before I decided on the choking outfit to wear. After about 20 long minutes of scanning through my wardrobe(cloth box, actually), I picked the Omoluabi Adventours branded shirt and an army green combat joggers. I added a Kangol-cap to spice my appearance.

Remember I mentioned that the trip was converted to a custom tour from a group monthly tour. A group tour is an organised quarterly (every three months) tour, that is organised by Omoluabi Adventours. Just like every other tour, we market/advertise the tour seats/slots for at least a month before the tour day. And after a month of marketing; three persons completed their registrations with financial commitments, which means that, only three persons paid, lol.

I could not stop thinking of how that happened. Just three persons? How? Or i am in the wrong industry or business? Is this spiritual attack from a rival startup? But we do not have shops not to talk of beef each other in the same shopping complex(obviously not the shoprite ones, but the ones with shops selling the EXACT same thing). I was confused and tired. Could it be the designs or the content? Or people don’t actually like me?

None of that was the problem. It was the Sapa, and maybe poor timing. It was not designs. Our graphic designer is not the best but he is getting better at it everyday. The content was solid. The team ensures proper research and pilot test before a tour flyer is commissioned. I totally forgot, failing is completely normal. We often get carried away by “why we failed”, “how we failed”, “what we did” instead of using our little wins to motivate ourselves to see the lessons and convert them to wins/blessings.

I discovered that life is so vainglorious that, some things happen and you’d want to throw in the towel. But, we shouldn’t. For me, I must not. Digging from my life experiences, I have practically lived on the strength of my support systems (everyone of you who have made me smile at least once and even you reading my crucible). So, for myself and for them, I must not give up. Truthfully, I was tired, angry and frustrated. After all these negative feelings, I rested. I had to.

I stopped thinking and working so hard to beat myself up. I dropped all my troubles. I kept eating and sleeping. I ate so much that my legendary natives couldn’t fit anymore. Then one day, I woke up and felt renewed to go ahead and give it all I have got. How could I give it all i got with three tourists, lol.
I listened to God, unarguably. And I went on the trip with my tourists (Dr Mrs AdeP, Dr Mrs AdeJ and Mr T AdeP).

The first lesson from this part of My Crucible is to believe in something bigger than all of us, and that is, God (Allah/Jesus/Eledumare/Olorun). He speaks to us, and if you know Him, you will hear when He speaks to you. The second lesson centers around knowing your support systems and ensuring that you appreciate your support system without feeling entitled. Inexorably; do not give up because you can always rest and believe me, gratitude to God and people who deserve it, is a way to rest. Try it.

“Examine what is said, not who is speaking.” — African Proverb

Start the journey with me on the next episode.

  • Dr Mrs AdeP, Dr Mrs AdeJ and Mr T AdeP are code names to keep the names of our tourist confidential.

--

--

Mr Taiwo

I am Eégún Mogaji. I love vampires, excessively. I am bald and definitely, not a bad person.