Things To Know Before You Enlist In The Navy

Parm Chaisopitworakul
6 min readMar 19, 2018

--

FA-18 Landing on a flight deck

As my enlistment in the Navy is approaching it’s end, I have grown into a much better person than I was when I began this journey, partially because of the Navy. Over the past three years in the Navy has been rewarding, I have learned some things that I truly wish I knew before I enlisted. Allow me to share just a few of them.

Service Members Are Human

I know this seems like an obvious statement, but prior to joining the Navy I used to look up to service members as “know all be all” but I was dead wrong. Service members are human just like me and you, we have bad people and good people in this world. When enlisting, keep in mind that your recruiter may not have your best interest in mind.

If You Don’t See It In Writing, SAY SOMETHING

Signing bonus? A rate(Job) that you were promised?

My friend scored in the 98th percentile on his ASVAB, and was promised a special operation contract by his recruiter once he finished basic training. He completed basic training, but when he asked about his “special operation contract” through his basic training command, the new command had no idea of such contract.

Some people may have your best interest in mind, while also being able to do their job, but most people are self-centered and only care about their own best interest.

If you were promised something, make sure you see it in writing so you have proof of the agreement. Something to keep in mind, if you are to receive anything in the Navy, you will sign some sort of document stating so.

Know What Type Of Job You Want

Flight Deck Posing Cooly

The Navy is an organization, and within this organization, there are rates (jobs) that each Sailor gets to choose from (permitting their ASVAB is high enough to qualify for that job, and the Navy has a current demand for that job).

The higher you score on the ASVAB, the more options you have regarding the type of jobs you can qualify for.

You can look at the jobs the navy offers at https://www.navy.com/careers/index.html

Once you know what job you want, you can select it, if it is available the day you go through medical screening.

It is important that you do not get pressured into accepting a job that does not sound pleasing to you because you will be stuck with it for two years of your contract (at minimum). You can always come back to choose at another time.

Your Well Being Depends On Your Command

Besides training commands, I have only been assigned to one duty station within the past three years, the one very important thing I learned is that your well being depends on your command.

Your command dictate on what time you will get off, when are you going to see your family again, can you attend school, can you get surgery, can you go on vacation etc.

The Navy is a big organization that breaks down into commands. Commands do their own thing, establish their own rules within the regulations of the Navy.

One of the worst things that could happen to you throughout your naval career is for you to report to a poorly run command with toxic people in the higher chain of command.

This will affect you tremendously. Things like vacation, or time off may become limited due to selfish desires of your chain of command.

Once you are in the Navy, you have little say about where you are going to be at any moment.

Don’t Enlist, Get Commissioned

My brother joined the Navy before me and used to tell me, go to college, get your degree then get commissioned. What did I do? I joined right after my High School graduation.

Here I am sharing this message with the world, If you already have a bachelor’s degree, please get commissioned.

If you get commissioned, Your quality of life will be immeasurably better.

You will eat better food, sleep in a better accommodation, and you will get pay more while you are serving. Depending on your command you may have less bull shit to deal with as an O-1 than as an E-3 on an aircraft carrier.

Things Will Undoubtedly Get Tough

Life in the Navy is a little different than life in a free country like America.

Sunrise in Split, Croatia

When you are out, working 12 hour days, 30 days straight without a day off on an aircraft carrier in the middle of no where with no internet and cell phone service for days or weeks at a time you get a lot of time to yourself. You will be forced to get to know yourself and deal with situations as they come.

You may lose sleep for a few days due to training or broken down because you are suppose to come home in a week but now you just got extended to stay on mission for another month.

It is ok, you will grow because of it.

It Can Be Fun As Shit!

Chania, Greece

Working weeks at a time without a day off may suck but you get to visit some cool places like Dubai, Greece, and Croatia.

When port calls come around, no other branches know how to party better than the Navy.

You will have a few days to enjoy another country’s cultures, architectures, the people and of course delicious food without having to pay for flights to get there.

If you make friends on the aircraft carrier and you share the same interest, you can go wake board on a private river in Dubai or go on a Game Of Thrones tour in Croatia.

Whatever interest you may have, there is a good chance you will find people that share the same values as you.

The downside about port visits are the following:

You have to request to stay out over night

You may or may not be granted permission to stay out in town depending on your rank and ship’s qualification requirements.

You will have to work while you are in port.

You Can Get Stationed To Some Cool Places oversea

My favorite part about the Navy, you have options to request over sea duty depending on the billets. I had a chance to get stationed in Japan when I first joined but I was following love, so i stayed in Virginia.. but we will get into that another time.

You can have many opportunities to live in another country for a few years so you can fully embrace different cultures and languages.

You Are Just A Number

In the end, you are just a number to fill in a billet for someone and when it is time for your to leave, there will be someone who will replace you.

Final Thoughts

The Navy has helped me grow into a better man than I was before I joined, through it’s adversity and moments of joy, it has taught me how to be with myself, love myself, and when I am in pain, physical or mental I will only get stronger from the experience.

If you decide to join, please do.

Please go after what you love and make a living out of it.

With that, I hope you live the life that you love, if you are not go after it!

content creator on simplerovers.com come rove the world with us

Parm

--

--

Parm Chaisopitworakul

Active Duty, Simple Rovers Contributor, On This Earth To Enjoy The Beauty Of This World