Meet Jenna Samora, 2024 PAEMST State Finalist

Jenna Samora teaches STEM (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) at Fairhaven Middle School in Bellingham Public Schools

--

What has been your personal journey on the way to excellence in teaching math/science?

I went to college with the idea that I was going to be a biologist. My mom was an amazing role model who was a biologist for the Mount Rainier National Park. I love science, but quickly discovered I disliked writing research papers. At this time I was coaching soccer and realized I really enjoyed teaching. This led me to my first education class in college during my junior year. I decided to get my master’s in science education with an emphasis in STEM education. I taught at an outdoor education class and found my love for experiential, hands-on learning. My first teaching job was in an engineering and science position where I had the privilege to create a STEM curriculum that connected our science concepts in our engineering class with an emphasis on hands-on learning. I then moved to Bellingham and got a great job as a STEM enrichment teacher and have had the amazing experience of bringing back our shop and creating a maker space for students.

What is one concept that excites your students and why?

My students love to build. Any hands-on opportunity excites them. Having a chance to design, create and watch their ideas come to fruition is so powerful.

How do your lesson planning and teaching practices engage and support all students?

I work very hard to make all my students feel welcomed in my classroom. If something is not accessible for any reason, I will work with students and staff to change that. We have an entirely wheelchair accessible shop with modified work benches and tool. Every lesson I create and implement I include opportunities for learning and responding in a variety of forms to create an inclusive environment.

How do the math and science concepts and skills you are teaching students help to prepare them for later learning, careers, and life?

Teaching students in a way that will prepare them for later learning and careers is up most important and at the forefront of our curriculum design in STEM. Middle school STEM falls under Career and Technical Education (CTE). We follow specific frameworks, have community partnerships, and work with industry experts to ensure we are teaching appropriate skills for the ever-changing job force.

What can math and science teachers do to make those disciplines more culturally sustaining for students with diverse identities and experiences?

Math and science teachers can increase their knowledge about the communities they live and work in. This can be done by connecting with families, students, and community members. Having this insight allows teachers to create curriculum that is more culturally sustaining for students with diverse identities and experiences. Including examples from different cultures helps students feel connected to the lessons and helps promote students’ connection to the classroom community.

What advice would you give to parents, families, or caregivers who want to support their students’ math and science learning?

I would encourage them to talk with their students and see what kind of experiences they are interested in. There are so many amazing resources available for students and families that taking the time to find those opportunities in schools, communities, and web resources will open so many doors for student exploration. Today we have so many free opportunities for math and science education provided online, that finding these resources has become more accessible than ever before. There are great avenues for students to participate in math and science in creative engaging ways that are fun for students. Robotics, coding, engineering, are just a few examples of real-world application using math and science.

--

--