Meet Renae Skar, 2024 PAEMST State Finalist

Renae Skar teaches fourth grade at Hockinson Heights Elementary School in the Hockinson School District

--

What has been your personal journey on the way to excellence in teaching math/science?

I began my teaching career in Washington in 2005. I’ve taught kindergarten through fifth grade. I have my Master’s in Education, and my National Board Certificate as an early childhood generalist. I’ve enjoyed teaching all grade levels. I currently teach fourth grade and love the enthusiasm and curiosity this grade level has. I have attended several professional development classes and experiences that have inspired me to teach with a project-based approach. While teaching in this manner I’m able to engage students with real world experiences and teach all subjects in an integrated way.

My journey in science teaching owes a great deal to the mentors and colleagues I have learned from and collaborated with along the way. The inspiration, encouragement and support of these educators has made me who I am today. I began experimenting with Project Based Learning (PBL) by observing a fellow teacher transform her classroom into a magical place. Intrigued, I attended a PBL series through my local ESD that not only gave me the tools and motivation to change my teaching, but allowed me to meet a network of like-minded PBL educators who I still stay in contact with today. Without support from administrators and mentors, I would not be able to take the risks and learn from the experiences in the classroom.

What is one concept that excites your students and why?

My students love anything hands-on but if I had to choose one concept that has a lasting and meaningful impact on students, it’s our salmon unit. Students love learning about and raising salmon. We learn about salmon throughout the year, which culminates in releasing the salmon we raise into their natural habitat. Having such a meaningful, real-world experience is memorable and demonstrates how actions can make a difference.

How do your lesson planning and teaching practices engage and support all students?

I have incorporated project based learning (PBL) into my regular teaching practice. By doing so, all students are able to participate in solving problems or designing solutions using the tools and resources taught in our various subject areas. Students work collaboratively; learning from one another on a regular basis in my classroom. This model has helped significantly with engagement and allowed me to support all students in their learning.

How do the math and science concepts and skills you are teaching students help to prepare them for later learning, careers, and life?

All my science units begin with a real-world problem or project. Many of my units also include an expert visitor working with my students. By engaging in science like real scientists and exploring different fields students gain a fundamental intuition of science and explore fields they may be interested in for careers or future learning.

What can math and science teachers do to make those disciplines more culturally sustaining for students with diverse identities and experiences?

Making science real, applicable, and engaging is the most important thing any teacher can do to make learning more culturally relevant. I begin every unit with students’ backgrounds and interests. By bringing students’ lives into the classroom I can easily make science more meaningful for them.

What advice would you give to parents, families, or caregivers who want to support their students’ math and science learning?

My advice for supporting students in science learning would be to look for science in the everyday world. Science is all around us and does not require a laboratory or a doctorate to become accessible. Ask children why they think something is the way it is, then listen and explore their ideas. Science is all about curiosity, which all students have an innate sense of already. Take them on walks and observe as much as you can. Instead of video game time, take some time to watch a nature show or science show that interests them. Science is a great family activity and something everyone in the family can enjoy and learn from one another.

--

--