You Don’t Have to Be an Expert to Write

Scott
3 min readJan 29, 2020

Sometimes it’s better if you’re not…

Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

At one point in my career I thought I needed a PHD. I had thoroughly enjoyed my Master’s degree and thought that if I wanted to set myself up for a second career, I should pursue a PHD in the same field. My last research paper was published in Proceedings Magazine (the actual printed one), and I had even garnered enough attention to warrant a public radio interview on said published article.

I obviously should keep learning more right? Furthering my education at the doctorate level was the logical next step.

But then I started researching what kind of jobs PHDs got you.

Research, teaching, and more research.

Photo by David Travis on Unsplash
Photo by David Travis on Unsplash

Don’t get me wrong, diving in to a problem or topic that I find interesting is one of the things I love to do. But being a “researcher” or teaching in “academia” are not careers I am currently looking for.

Before Moving Forward — Step Back

Pause a moment and consider your goals when you write something for publishing?

  • Is it to teach?
  • To entertain?
  • Share a thought or perspective?
  • Help solve a problem?
  • To earn money?

Regardless of what your goal is, I have realized that the majority of what I read online is not from “experts”. I can learn just as much from someone writing about what they don’t know as what they do. My most read story on Medium is me recounting how I almost died (or could have) when climbing El Capitan in Yosemite Valley. My other articles that were picked up by Medium publications were either my perspective on career goals, or what lessons I have learned as a leader.

No PHD required.

Photo by Cole Keister on Unsplash
Photo by Cole Keister on Unsplash

What it Takes

Passion is more developed than discovered.

Dan Miller

I found this quote recently and love the implication behind it.

Our interests are where we dip our toes in to the water. Our passions are where we have waded out chest deep and finally dive in and start swimming for the other shoreline.

Writing skills take time to develop. Being an expert in an area can often be viewed as being seen as someone with an immense passion for something.

So remember, you don’t have to be an expert to dive in.

Photo by anouar olh from Pexels
Photo by anouar olh from Pexels

--

--

Scott

Working to make me better, trying to make you better…hoping to make us better. More of this over at www.scottfromcalifornia.com