The Motivated Mastery Manifesto

Paul Jun
2 min readMay 1, 2013

--

It started out as a side project.

I was in the process of redesigning my blog. I had trouble coming up with a byline. I have no idea why I was stressing it; I wanted a catchy or witty phrase that encompassed what my blog was about, something that made readers go, Ah, this is for me. Everyone else seemed to have one, so I thought, should I?

Day after day I couldn’t come up with anything. So I finally decided, fuck the byline. I’m going to write a manifesto.

A manifesto is a call to action, a set of principles to guide you. I was deeply inspired by the Holstee manifesto. Having a visual cue is powerful. These small reminders could be powerful enough to guide your thinking and behavior.

Within a week, it has been shared thousands of times on my blog and continues to be the number one viewed item. Its function is far more powerful than a byline — far more shareable and spreadable.

This manifesto reflects all that I’ve learned and practiced over the last few years. About three years ago I was failing college student who had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I was lost. Self-education became a source of self-awareness, understanding, purpose, and joy.

I know I’m young and have a long way to go. But the progress I’ve made has been meaningful and I wanted to create something that reflected the journey thus far. I’m truly grateful for the teachers and heroes that entered into my life at a time where I needed it most.

Without further ado, here’s the manifesto that I created not only to remind myself of what’s important, but to empower those who have been brainwashed to believe that they don’t hold the key to greatness.

You can find the original on my blog, http://www.motivatedmastery.com/manifesto.

Enjoy.

--

--

Paul Jun

Content strategist, community builder, photographer, and writer. Co-founder of The Observers. Formerly: CreativeMornings & altMBA.