Learning Digital Persuasion & Behaviour Change for Product Design & Strategy

Ruchika Madan
3 min readJun 10, 2022

Why I relished learning about these principles in my journey toward product design & strategy.

Understanding behavioural theories helped in product design and strategy in a way that will benefit the consumers, not just the companies. Here are some of the topics or books studied while learning about digital persuasion that might be relevant to Product Design & Strategy.

Thinking Fast and Slow by Kahneman

This book helped me understand heuristics and biases. Comprehending cognitive fluency and then linking it to digital products was helpful to know where it is used for user benefits and where it is exploited for companies’ growth. These principles will guide me while brainstorming about a product, building a marketing strategy, or evaluating a product or service.

Photo by Monica Sauro on Unsplash

Artistotle & Cialdini Framework
Learning about Aristotle/Cialdini frameworks has also been productive and will extensively help in knowing where to start while building a product and also what features to include from the user perspective. Essentially, I will be able to have more equipped conversations during conceptualization sessions for product strategy.
Studying products from Ethos, Pathos & Logos perspective will help me better comprehend brand strategies for creating valuable brand connections with the consumers. I also learned how to use the principles of pathos and logos to add more substance to my conversations by articulating & developing the narratives.

Nudge

Further, Nudge was one of my favourites as it highlighted human defaults and structuring complex choices and much more. I especially relished learning about mapping the tools to create an engaging user experience.
Comprehending the dark patterns used by choice architects will also help me be more conscious about using these persuasion principles and frameworks to benefit consumers first and then the companies building the products.
I am further intrigued by the implementation of the nudges in the real world of product design, thus, I want to keep learning more about the principles and frameworks by following the authors on other mediums, like articles and podcasts.

Photo by Jasmin Sessler on Unsplash

And more…

Learning about persuasion from a UX perspective was equally enjoyable and will enable me to have a more robust conversation about user experience.

Moreover, understanding gamification from a persuasion perspective was enriching, especially the Octalysis Framework by Yu-kai Chou. It is comprehensive and can be easily applied during most product design sessions.
Ethics was also a critical topic, and discussing the persuasion principles and frameworks from their ethical implementation perspective was engaging and enlightening.

Photo by Shubham Dhage on Unsplash

The icing on the cake was to work on a brief and suggest a unique solution while implementing one or more of these frameworks.
Overall my experience of learning Digital Persuasion was like planting a seed that I would adore watering throughout my journey.

--

--