Meet The Team Monday: Gemrald Calibara our Quality Assurance Analyst

Peoplewave
4 min readSep 3, 2018

Welcome to the 14th instalment of Meet The Peoplewave Team Monday, #MTPTM! Many of you are curious about what it’s like to work at Peoplewave and want to meet the team behind the scenes. Here’s your chance!

This week, we’re pleased to introduce Gemrald Calibara our Quality Assurance Analyst, who’s based in our Davao tech lab.

Let’s explore more about Gemrald as he shares with us his background in IT and his what it’s like working at Peoplewave, and more.

1. Could you share with us your experience before coming to work with Peoplewave?

Prior to working with Peoplewave, I have been an IT practitioner for more than 15 years. Most of the part it was 11 years in ISO certified Banana Export companies where I mostly developed and implemented a Desktop and few Web-based applications. Then, I went abroad to work as a Software/Technical Support in the Ministries of Kuwait for 2 years where I was also exposed in handling data centre, backup system and hi-tech applications particularly running on TETRA/LTE network. As my contract ended and though I had an option to stay, I decided to go back home (Davao, Philippines) due to family reasons. I got a job as a Developer in a BPO company for at least 1 year and then finally became a full-time home-based developer and partly oversee a project for a foreign client.

2. What made you decide to join at Peoplewave?

I’ve made the decision to join Peoplewave for an opportunity to work in a start-up HR tech company for the first time. As I was captivated by the company’s purpose of “Putting people first in people management”. Though a part time QA is not my intended position as I applied for, which is quite a career switch on my part, Peoplewave gave me a chance to showcase what I can bring on the table relying only on my skill sets and prior experience. Thus, they trusted me for the job role and on the tasks assigned of which I’m grateful for.

3. What are your biggest challenges at work as Quality Assurance Analyst?

My biggest challenges at work as QA/QC was at the beginning with this company. At first, I had to learn about how the products works and gather needed information from Operations to Development team and to be familiarized with the processes or the ins and outs of the system, from business up to technical standpoint. It is also very challenging to eliminate if not all the defects and unexpected issues as the products rapidly grow in terms of additional features, changes in the flow and keeping track of the errors or bugs or issues. And lastly, not to be overboard of my QA/QC findings that could cause to hamper the release of the products on time. While QA/QC is quite new to me thus every day is a learning process.

4. What’s the coolest thing you’re working on right now?

Apart from work, My family started doing 3R’s Reuse, Reduce and Recycle. At home, we have a separate designated bins for plastics, papers, biodegradable and non-biodegradable wastes. We segregate those items which are reusable such as bottles to be used for planting, reducing and refusing plastics, aerobic and anaerobic composting and eco bricking. By doing this, we are helping the environment in our own little ways and it’s coolest thing to do with my family as a way of bonding.

5. How is your experience working at Peoplewave compare to other companies that you worked before?

My experience at Peoplewave has been good so far, though there are ups and downs of which every company have experienced. I could say Peoplewave culture is the most honest and transparent company to be part of, which I also valued most as a person. It feels like I’m one of the business partners of a company and not just a usual employee. Voices can be heard regardless of job position and ethnicity.

About Gemrald Calibara

He has more than 15 years experience in IT. Most the years he worked in ISO certified Banana Export companies. He has been worked number of companies as following: Global Projects Co — Ministries of Kuwait, Flatworld Solutions, Inc. (Philippines) and Nader & Ebrahim S/O Hassan Philippines / Fresh Studio Innovations Asia.

About Peoplewave

Peoplewave is Asia’s leading blockchain-ready HR software company. It is revolutionising people management with data-driven, transparent feedback and verified performance data. Peoplewave offers two key products — the “First 100 Days”: a new hire onboarding tool and “Performance Wave”: continuous 360-degree performance appraisals.

Peoplewave’s software suite is blockchain-ready — its blockchain platform is called “Wavebase”. Wavebase is a revolutionary platform that provides ongoing verified employee performance information that will change the face of hiring and managing workplace talent.

--

--

Peoplewave

Peoplewave make great managers. We do this with our revolutionary Employee Relationship Management (“ERM”) platform. See more at www.peoplewave.co