He Wore a Pocahontas Dress

Pesky Pippi
2 min readOct 30, 2017

--

This was Halloween many moons ago…

I bought a Pocahontas dress for my youngest son so he could match his big brother, who proudly spent his own money on an amazing feather headdress.

We pushed “Pocahontas” in a stroller when we went trick-or-treating, refilling his hands with Tootsie roll pops, to keep him happy and quiet.

My daughter was a bunny and wore pink cowgirl boots. On the wrong feet. We didn’t notice until three hours later, when she started limping.

That was one Halloween. There have been a dozen Halloweens since. There have been dozens of Halloween “before children.”

Going through old photos of Halloweens past, I enjoy reminiscing.

Where did the time go?? They grow up so fast!!

Adults always make those comments about children. I find these comments totally irritating. I mean, children grow and time happens.

Halloween is one day a year and there are 364 days in between. I try to:

Enjoy all the days. Take in all the moments. Look back. Experience today. Move forward.

While those past October 31 moments (and candy) are gone, I look back with a big jack-o-lantern grin.

Happy Halloween!

Those three!

--

--

Pesky Pippi

Big heart, 3 big kids, big dog. Instagram: @PeskyPippi