How’s Your Morning Going, Sunshine?

Pesky Pippi
1 min readJan 17, 2018

--

A happy, sunshine mural.

Running late had its perks.

I was running late one morning. So of course the gas tank was nearly empty. Because gas tanks around here seem to empty when I am running late.

I stopped at the gas station and realized I had no water bottle. Heading to play soccer that morning, I needed water. Otherwise, dehydration. Funny, because in our refrigerator, there are like nine bottles of water all happily cooling, waiting. (I play soccer with a group of women one morning a week. It’s good cardio and good laughs.)

While the tank was filling, I ran into the convenience store. The guy who worked there called out, “Hi Sunshine!”

Who me?!

I had no make-up, my hair was in two braids (very Pippi Longstocking), and I was dressed in baggy shorts and shin guards.

When I went to the counter, “How’s your morning going, Sunshine?!”

I answered, “My morning is going a lot better now, thanks to you!”

It’s the little things. It’s kindness. It’s friendliness. It’s cheerfulness. You know what? I felt sunshiny all over and had the most amazing morning as a result.

--

--

Pesky Pippi

Big heart, 3 big kids, big dog. Instagram: @PeskyPippi