Sweaty Bodies and Drakkar Noir

Pesky Pippi
1 min readSep 24, 2017
Ah, 15 years old…

The song Faithfully by Journey brings me back.

Back to the high school dance in the gym with the hardwood floors and the sweaty teenagers. The boys smelled like Drakkar Noir. The bodies pressed against each other for the slow songs, and for the last song.

I wore my hair big and my leggings skinny. Shoulder-padded blouse with a cinch belt. Heavy eyeliner. Minty-gum breath.

I clung onto some boy, as he smashed against me.

It was 1984.

The song ending was my cue that the coach would soon transform into a pumpkin.

The gym lights turned on to reveal the realities of pimpled faces. My 11:00 p.m. curfew loomed. No after-the-dance parties for me. Time to go home.

As I lie in bed, I replayed the wonderful night in my head, still with a hint of Drakkar Noir on my neck. Left by a boy.

--

--

Pesky Pippi

Big heart, 3 big kids, big dog. Instagram: @PeskyPippi