The Secrets of the Saguaro

I learned 9 life lessons from a cactus

Pesky Pippi
1 min readOct 25, 2017
This was taken on my 46th birthday, en route to Sedona, Arizona.

Another year older. Sigh.

No way! That’s not how I view birthdays. I’m more like: I’m happy to be alive! Time to adventure!

Here’s a tip. If you’re feeling a little old, stand next to something that’s even older. Like a saguaro cactus. Did you know saguaros can live to be 200 years old, and older? It takes that long to reach its full height. Imagine all those years of growing and living.

In that magical dessert, the great saguaro whispered its secrets to me:

  • Stand tall.
  • Smile big.
  • Be proud.
  • Embrace life.
  • Be yourself.
  • Enjoy the sunshine.
  • Have confidence.
  • Keep growing.
  • Thrive.

If you think the saguaro is old, visit the Grand Canyon, which we did the next day. At 70 million years old, the Grand Canyon is ah-mazing.

In comparison, I am just a tot. And still have so much growing, experiencing, and thriving ahead.

The magnificent Grand Canyon!

--

--

Pesky Pippi

Big heart, 3 big kids, big dog. Instagram: @PeskyPippi