A list of the best “Get-Up-And-Running” code tutorials

For those that are self-teaching, these are the walk-throughs, tutorials, videos, etc. that I’ve come across and thought “Finally. That’s exactly what I needed.”.

The best walk-through’s I’ve found over the last couple of years. This list is updated every month or so to include new additions.

Last updated: 7/24/2017

AWS

*Amazon Web Services documentation is second-to-none in clarity and completeness. However, given the 40+ services they offer it can be intimidating to wire them all together.

Fundamentals Of Elastic Beanstalk http://colintoh.com/blog/aws-elastic-beanstalk-getting-started-with-fundamentals

Command Line

It only hurts at the beginning.

An Intro To The OSX Command Linehttp://eddywashere.com/blog/an-intro-to-the-os-x-command-line/

CSS

CSS Flex Box - https://css-tricks.com/snippets/css/a-guide-to-flexbox/ The sweet spot of using flex box. The preferred way to layout elements. Preferred because it's easy once you get it.

Data Conversion

In-Browser

https://konklone.io/json/ Not high powered and will probably struggle with massive data sets but this gives you JSON to the CSV output you are expecting. Good for small-medium data sets if you don't feel like dealing with the command line.

Git

Git In 600 Wordshttps://maryrosecook.com/blog/post/git-in-six-hundred-words
Start A New Github Repositoryhttp://kbroman.org/github_tutorial/pages/init.html

Javascript Helpers

_.Lodash - https://lodash.com/ Lodash is a utility belt for all the necessary, but tedious, parts of writing code like sorting, separating, mapping, etc. Take advantage of this library, it has beautiful docs.

MySQL

MySQL Workbench - https://www.mysql.com/products/workbench/ Powerful MySQL database editing tool
MySQL from the start - https://www.sitepoint.com/using-node-mysql-javascript-client/

Node.js

Build a RESTful API with Node.js and Express - https://scotch.io/tutorials/build-a-restful-api-using-node-and-express-4
Great starter for setting up a solid API. Combine this with 'Fundamentals Of Elastic Beanstalk' and you have a solid, scalable backend foundation.

React.js

Components: The foundation - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnRFerIP8aA&t=1067s
Understanding The React Component Lifecycle - https://busypeoples.github.io/post/react-component-lifecycle/
React: Props, Data Binding - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZnRFerIP8aA&t=1249s
React Flux - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PvjNglsyOHs&t=293s You'll get a good grasp of the Flux pattern by watching videos 9-14

Swift

Completion Handlers - https://philandrews.io/post/swift-completion-handlers
What's A Delegate? - https://philandrews.io/post/swift-whats-a-delegate
Adding Elements Without Storyboard - https://philandrews.io/post/swift-adding-elements-without-using-storyboard
Aligning Objects Programmatically - https://philandrews.io/post/swift-aligning-objects-programmatically

Web

Javascript Stack From Scratchhttps://github.com/verekia/js-stack-from-scratch > Update 4/17: This is still the most complete guide to modern web development that I've found. I return monthly.